The Alchemist, 25th Anniversary: A Fable About Following Your Dream
by Paulo Coelho
Kindle Edition-

A special 25th anniversary edition of the extraordinary international bestseller, including a new Foreword by Paulo Coelho.

Combining magic, ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "interesting observations" by rosietepp (see profile) 11/03/07

Each person who spoke on the book had interesting observations on his life and goals and the goals and life of all he met. I came away from the discussion liking the book more.

 
  "Inspirational reading, good discussion book" by dchase21 (see profile) 11/03/07

Though not everyone enjoyed this book in our club (28 attendees) most were able to see the beauty in the simplicity of the story. A "go for it" in your life book in a fable format. Self-help in achieving your goals without being in the "self-help" section. Personally I enjoyed the book tremendously and will pick it up again

 
  "Opens up great talk about your personal philosphy" by osiasmo (see profile) 11/15/07

 
  "Fabulous, but....." by shortstallings (see profile) 12/05/07

I read this outside my book club. It was fabulous on it's own. I'm not sure, however, how much discussion it would prompt. It's an easy, fast read - perfect for reading during the holiday rush, but I can't say how much discussion it would induce.

I almost hate giving it only 3 stars, because it deserves more than that - but as a book club book....I just don't know.

 
  "This is one of my all-time favorite books" by ginni (see profile) 12/11/07

I loved this book when I first read it more than ten years ago. I have given it to many people since that time and each one now considers this one of their very favorite and most cherished books.

 
  "Interesting" by cottagegirls (see profile) 01/15/08

This is one of those books that I probably would not have picked up if it wasn't for bookclub...but I really enjoyed it. It was very different from other books I have read which added to the fun of it.

 
  "Great story and themes for book club discussion" by kj1948 (see profile) 04/14/08

 
  "Very Different read" by tooterbell (see profile) 05/18/08

Our club read this, and I wasn't expecting to like it, but I did. It isn't very long, but it is very powerful

 
  "Kind of ridiculous" by ellentambo (see profile) 05/21/08

very sappy. Would not recomend

 
  "Our book club loved it!" by hijewels (see profile) 09/07/08

"The Alchemist" lent itself to the sharing of some life-time experiences including some surreal ones The discussions were very reflective and thought provoking. The book defintiely had two stories in parallel - the simple literal story and the bigger picture as it applies to the struggles of life. It would be wonderful to encourage our kids and family to read the book and that perhpas we need to keep it by our bedside for an occassional refresher course.

 
  "Did not lead to much discussion. Simple story, simply told, obvious lesson." by scribread (see profile) 11/20/08

 
  "2.8/5 rated by 5 members" by mindyhayes (see profile) 01/26/09

 
  "Good message but a bit direct" by jaegeral (see profile) 02/22/09

Found the book to have excellent messages and ideas but felt the ideas were laid out for you almost as though it was a youth book. I personally did not connect with it but the book did create an excellent discussion at our book club.

 
  "The message was good but not unique." by sdescisciolo (see profile) 02/22/09

The story was interesting and well written, but I was disappointed in the ending to this book. Without disclosing it, I thought it was trite, given the magnitude of the rest of the book.

 
  "Everyone in our club loved this book!" by aprilkyle (see profile) 03/11/09

This book lends itself to excellent discussions on following your dreams and the importance of noticing the beauty in every day life. It was a nice break from all the bad news that we are hit with daily. The Alchemist is a nice reminder to keep faith that every day brings something new and good.

 
  "The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho" by verokat (see profile) 06/18/09

The book is an allegorical tale of a young man's search for treasure. The treasure, of course, turned out to be a richer life and stronger character. The writing had a strongly optimistic tone and a sound central theme--to pursue one's dream despite obstacles. But the structure was simplistic, as was much of the philosophy. The message was often heavy-handed and repetitive. Mr. Coelho's introduction delivered the goods in four pages...the book itself seemed like an elaboration. The consensus of our book club was that there was valuable material in the themes in spite of the simplistic approach but the preaching exceeded the story.

 
  "The Alchemist" by saltybrady (see profile) 06/18/09

 
  "The Alchemist" by clubinfo (see profile) 06/22/09

I wanted to like this book and initially found the simple story interesting. Toward the end, however, the heavy handed repetition made it difficult to complete. I love books that stimulate thinking and don't mind having the author promote a point of view, but am quickly bored by one who feels he must repeatedly tell me what I am to think and feel. The foreword was much more interesting than the book.

 
  "the Alchemist" by zamak (see profile) 06/30/09

 
  "HO HUM! and Dull!" by dmc1230 (see profile) 08/15/09

I really wanted to like this book and it's been a best-seller for ages but I guess I just didn't see the point. It was agonizingly slow and repetitive. Kind of a JonathanLivingstone Seagull meets god. BORING!

 
  "I didnt enjoy this book...I was disappointed" by lollygil (see profile) 09/22/09

 
  "Thought-provoking story" by sams (see profile) 12/09/09

 
  "Self-help thinly disguised as fiction" by Persephone (see profile) 02/14/10

When an author feels the need to drop the names of celebrities who have been sighted holding his book and then pronounces that I will be taught life-changing lessons therein, I suspect that the actual contents are more hype than substance. That is definitely the case with The Alchemist. If the author had simply told his tale, and let the readers be the judge, I would have been more open to enjoying it.

 
  "Good for Spiritual and Life-Direction Conversation" by christyo78 (see profile) 03/22/10

I really enjoyed all the symbolism this book has to offer, and I think our group will have a lot to discuss when we meet. There's the spiritual discovery side of things, but also the story of the personal journey--discovery of what is most important in life, and how each person's story is woven.

 
  "I didn't like it" by stemfamily (see profile) 03/24/10

I just didn't like it. No real good reason why. It was about pursuing your "Personal Legend". It just had no meat for me. Didn't fall in love with any of the characters. Just wasn't good for me.

 
  "The Alchemist" by Karyn Soltis (see profile) 09/05/10

WONDERFULLY written, so inspiring, I just loved this book. I have re-listened to it 3 times since. If you do like audio (I'm on the road a lot), Jeremy Iron's voice is great for this book.

 
  "Following your chosen path" by rbeardsley (see profile) 09/19/10

The book was a reminder to follow your destined path.

 
  "The Alchemist" by hentsla (see profile) 12/16/10

A beautiful journey of lifes ups and downs, the choices we make, and the driving spirit of life goals, faith, and belief.

 
  "Change in Perspective" by pinkles75 (see profile) 12/22/10

I was a little hesitant at first to truly say that I liked this book. I didn't know how to feel as I eased through the first third of the book, but as a went along my feelings began to pick up. By the end I was engrossed in the ideas that the story presented. This book pushes you to look at parts of your own life in different perspectives and really think about the choices you have made. I think this would be great for a book club because it is one of those books that everyone sees and understands differently.

 
  "The Alchemist" by tgarland (see profile) 01/08/11

Sweet book with a lovely plot.

 
  "A Book Club Must Read" by niliev (see profile) 01/18/11

Enriching!

 
  "Interesting but...." by gundysmom (see profile) 04/02/11

 
  "The Alchemist" by silverberg82 (see profile) 04/08/11

This book is inspiring and spiritual. Fantastic and a must read for everyone who is wondering what to do next.

 
  "The Alchemist by Paulo Coelho" by clkadelbach (see profile) 05/20/11

Thought Provoking.

 
  "This book is now one of my favorites!" by steph.curtis (see profile) 08/28/11

As I read this book, I could feel my heart "smile" with all the hidden messages & life lessons intertwined in the text. It is a beautiful story/fable that is timeless. A perfect read in my opinion.

 
  "The Alchemist" by nokidding1 (see profile) 12/25/11

religious spiritual nonsense

 
  "Life Changer" by mybcjac24 (see profile) 06/23/12

Again another book that I couldn't believe I hadn't read before. This was a life changing inspirational read for me personally reminding me of my dreams and passions in life.

 
  "You mat think otherwise but," by ThePageTurners (see profile) 10/25/12

Many of us enjoyed this book I don't feel it lends itself well to a book club discussion. It is more of a "self-help" book disguised as a fable. It is very enjoyable, insightful and beautiful but I think each person may take away something very different from this selection.

 
  "boring" by nursejenn2000 (see profile) 11/09/12

I got the theme of the book and what the author wanted portrayed, but *yawn* why bother.

 
  "The Alchemist" by dvhalas (see profile) 10/29/13

Sweet fairy tale, nicely written, but pop philosophy is not my favorite read.

 
  "The Alchemist" by Hoobiboo (see profile) 11/01/13

Well, our group certainly had a lot to discuss at this discussion. While most of us read the book, others tried and set it aside. For some, the experience was just too dreamscape and fantastical. Others found the novel delightful and a fun read.

The major question that didn't seem to get resolved was "What makes this book so popular?" Given that the book spent 242 weeks as a bestseller and has become the most widely translated book by a living author, for those in the group who "didn't get it," understanding the appeal of the novel was key to their experience with the book.

The Alchemist was one of those books that you either liked or disliked. Those who enjoyed had a great journey.

So, if you're planning to read this one for discussion, be prepared for the disparity. :)

 
  "A Parable to Ponder" by barbararobins (see profile) 12/18/14

This book has a great message and really gets you thinking about your own Personal Legend and how to fulfill it.

 
  "The Alchemist" by little-sweetums (see profile) 04/23/15

overall the group liked the book but found it repetitive and somewhat disjointed in its message. would not recommend it. Message was not new, just a rehash of other ideas.

 
  "" by cacinn (see profile) 05/14/15

 
  "" by MelissaRay (see profile) 10/23/15

 
  "" by AirheadReads (see profile) 12/15/15

 
  "The Alchemist" by missada (see profile) 05/04/16

You need to start reading it with an open mind and know that it is not a novel, it has deep meaning.

 
  "" by kjassel (see profile) 08/03/16

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/04/16

 
  "" by Beth4Books (see profile) 09/12/16

 
  "" by eschwerm (see profile) 01/16/17

Of the six present at our meeting, two really didn't care for it, two liked it and two liked it a lot. I personally didn't care for it. I want a real story - not a fable. As a 63 year old retired oncology nurse, I feel like I know many of the life lessons - although reminders are always good. Felt like a self help book. Better suited for younger people. One member felt the main character was actually very selfish in his search. Not a good book club book.

 
  "" by amintcar (see profile) 01/26/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/21/17

 
  "" by Mjuricic (see profile) 05/31/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/03/17

 
  "Feel better" by gehgy (see profile) 12/14/17

I was expecting this to be slow and difficult, but was pleasantly surprised. It held my interest and moved along quickly. I suppose its message of hope and optimism may be considered trite; but with so much bad news around these days, it was refreshing to experience the positive feelings this story left me with. A quick and enjoyable read.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/18/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/14/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/17/18

 
  "" by CindyMo18 (see profile) 05/05/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/15/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/21/18

 
  "" by jillkuykendall (see profile) 08/01/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/27/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/05/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/10/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/25/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/30/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/14/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/23/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/07/19

 
  "" by KarenC (see profile) 05/18/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/21/19

 
  "" by jcunningham (see profile) 06/25/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/13/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/20/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/02/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/20/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/08/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/08/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/08/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/13/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/11/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/02/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/13/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/06/20

 
  "" by krilljack (see profile) 07/04/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/21/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/08/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/02/21

I absolutely loved this book and the meaning the story has.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/18/21

 
  "" by thedorkknight (see profile) 03/08/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/02/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/14/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/27/21

Michelle 3 trite persevered to grab together quotes that were there from before

Bev 6.5 fear is healthy, excessive fear is healthy- what does make one happy?

Donna 6 rehashing spirituality

Char 7 brought to me many reflections into the journey

Helen 7

Annelie 8 made me think about lifeâ??s legends

Eric 6 light summer self-help fable

Gab 8 got lost in it. A book for grownups

Monique 8 charm of the characterâ?¦ adventureâ?¦

Vivianne 8



3.35/5







 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/01/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/10/21

 
  "" by Eharrison (see profile) 01/08/22

I loved this book. Many of the lessons discussed in the book have changed my outlook on many things.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/23/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/14/22

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...