The Passage
by Justin Cronin
Hardcover- $19.18

?It happened fast. Thirty-two minutes for one world to die, another to be born.?

First, the unthinkable: a security breach at a secret U.S. ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Huge in scope!" by shannmaier (see profile) 06/21/10

Not really into the apocalyptic, end-of-the-world genre of books but this one kept me reading. I am assuming there will be another since the ending left everything so up in the air.

 
  "The Passage" by LibQueen (see profile) 07/01/10

It may be about an apocalypse caused by government experiment gone very wrong producing monster vampires but the vampires are only the outward threat. This book is really about humanity meeting challenges--unimaginable challenges. And then there is this little girl that we as readers can see her potential to save humanity but how?

 
  "The Passage" by meghann01 (see profile) 07/21/10

I thought this was a fantastic book. I could not put it down and almost resented the time I had to take away from reading to watch my children. =) The plot was well-paced and keep the reader on the edge of the seat.

 
  "The Passage" by paper (see profile) 07/28/10

Although it was a long book, I found myself being pulled further and further into the story the more I read it. It became difficult to put it down. I'm looking forward to the sequel.

 
  "The Passage" by burns.kristine (see profile) 08/06/10

This book was hard to get into reading. However, it made for great book club discussions. It really left me waiting for the next one in the series.

 
  "The Passage" by leesha (see profile) 08/09/10

The book was 800 pgs. We had about 6 weeks to read it. I only got to the 300's. Just couldn't get into it.

 
  "The Passage" by danalli4 (see profile) 08/16/10

I got this book after seeing it on Oprah's summer reading list. I was literally unable to put it down. I absolutely loved it and can't wait for the other books in the series. My understanding is that it is the start of a trilogy.
My book club is reading it now.

 
  "a vampire book, only slightly better than the Twilight books" by beckylord (see profile) 11/13/10

I will say up front that I am not a "vampire book" person, so this was better than I expected, that is why it got two stars instead of 1. I liked that it gave a "reason" that there are vampires in the first place and a mechanism for their creation, etc, etc. The book was sooooooo darn long, though. It went on and on and on about things that were really irrelevant. So, well written, but I hated the story. Not nearly as stupid as the Twilight series. I suppose there are good themes to talk about at a book club but you could have a much better book than a vampire one to have the same discussion.

 
  "Really stupid" by pennyslager (see profile) 11/13/10

I hated this book. Only finished it to see what happened--and oh dear, its the first one of a trilogy! I will not be reading the other two to find out what happens. We all know there are only three possible outcomes--the vampires win, the humans win, or they just keep fighting endlessly.

 
  "The Passage" by MissRobin (see profile) 01/20/11

 
  "The Passage" by silverberg82 (see profile) 02/09/11

slow at times but it got better in the end.

 
  "Unfinished?" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/19/12

I didn't realize when I read it that it was intended to be the first in a series of books. So I got to the end and felt a little cheated. I really enjoyed reading the book and I look forward to finishing the story.

 
  "The passage" by Monicaandary (see profile) 12/20/12

Absolutely loved it!!

 
  "" by Stephani (see profile) 06/16/19

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...