The Vanishing Half: A Novel
by Bennett Brit
Hardcover- $16.39

A READ WITH JENNA and GOOD MORNING AMERICA Book Club Pick!

“Bennett’s tone and style recalls James Baldwin and Jacqueline Woodson, ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/12/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/13/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/13/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/18/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/26/20

I think it was a marvelous read... I’m not too fond of the ending but it stayed true to the name “vanishing half”...

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/27/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/28/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/07/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/09/20

It was very insightful on several different levels. Very hard to put down

 
  "Who you are..." by castellj (see profile) 08/11/20

I loved this study in personal identity - how you define yourself (however long that may take) and how others define you (however unjust that can be). I refrain from giving it the full five stars only because I felt the end was a little rushed and the time jumps confusing. I loved all the characters and their arcs. I would recommend, especially because it is relevant to the issues in the news today.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/11/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/17/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/23/20

 
  "" by skhastings (see profile) 08/23/20

 
  "Who am I??" by Bodacious (see profile) 08/28/20

well written story about individuals who aren't always comfortable in their own skin, and the lengths they will go to be something else.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/31/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/31/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/31/20

Interesting look into how race can shape our lives.

 
  "" by puzzled66 (see profile) 09/02/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/03/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/04/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/05/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/06/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/09/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/14/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/16/20

 
  "" by joycesmart (see profile) 09/19/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/24/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/27/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/28/20

 
  "Untamed" by whitesc3 (see profile) 09/29/20

This book was very preachy The author has opinions that she feels everyone should have. No room for disagreement in her world. Very choppy and did not flow. It was written with random thoughts just thrown together

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/01/20

3.5/5 stars.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/04/20

 
  "Siblings Forever" by thompson08 (see profile) 10/09/20

Loved this book. Sisters, twins to boot, look at life in totally different ways and the course of their lives differ greatly. Though their differences are great, they still have a bond. Each allows the other to be the person they think they should be. Good book club book because there is much to discuss in this book.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/28/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/30/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/13/20

I enjoyed the book and was intrigued as to what was next. There were about 2 components that were a little incredulous in that the author was extreme, but I was still drawn in. As the book progressed, I wanted to know “what’s next?” and couldn’t put it down.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/16/20

 
  "The vanishing half like a lost sock." by lizblair (see profile) 11/16/20

we all start off with 2 socks. Why do we lose one and not another.? Why do some turn up in odd places and some do not turn up at all. We all have 2 stories. One side we show others more than the other. The vanishing half is about the lives we live and the lives we hide. Enjoyable reading and reflection.

 
  "" by Amanalli33 (see profile) 11/19/20

I didn’t think there was resolution. It needed to be tied together.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/19/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/19/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/20/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/22/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/22/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/22/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/24/20

 
  "" by hkbarker (see profile) 11/27/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/29/20

 
  "" by nancyjesurun (see profile) 12/10/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/16/20

 
  "The Vanishing Half" by laureensa (see profile) 12/17/20

Thought Provoking book; good story

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/20/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/04/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/04/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/05/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/07/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/16/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/19/21

????

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/21/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/27/21

Beautifully written. So much to talk about for a bookgroup discussion. Characters with such varied lives. You want to hate some characters but also understand their pain.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/31/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/02/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/03/21

This book was just ok. It was hard to get into but, got better.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/06/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/09/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/11/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/11/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/20/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/21/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/21/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/24/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/25/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/28/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/28/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/01/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/02/21

 
  "" by Karoly (see profile) 03/09/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/20/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/28/21

Slow to start but once I got into it I found the story to be interesting particularly looking from different perspectives of both the twins and their daughters who led different lives. A good story that highlighted the differences of growing up black and white.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/28/21

It was a real slog to try and get through this book. Whilst there were some interesting themes, such as race and sexuality, there didn’t seem to be a prominent storyline with your typical complication and resolution.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/28/21

It was well written and it was good to read about a number of cultural identity issues, however I never felt hooked in by the book, I found myself waiting for the end, rather than waiting to find out what happened next.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/28/21

 
  "" by Go1cleary (see profile) 03/31/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/09/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/09/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/12/21

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...