The Namesake : A Novel
by Jhumpa Lahiri
Paperback- $14.39

 "Dazzling...An intimate, closely observed family portrait."—The New York Times

"Hugely appealing."—People Magazine

"An exquisitely ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Naming Our Members" by TomeTrek (see profile) 11/13/06

The discussion was primarily favorable, with only one member saying she prefers books with more action.
I see Lahiri as a kinder, more sympathetic chronicler of the foibles and details of ex-pat Indian family life than V.S. Naipaul.
The discussion quickly took an odd turn into the history of name changes among some of our members. Who would guess that so many people have done that?
Several people found "Interpreter of Maladies" more engaging. Her short story technique is memorable.

 
  "Great discussion book" by susan48 (see profile) 01/11/07

This book was a great book club discussion book.
It brought up alot of issues especially being a immigrant, first born american. And not wanting to loose your culture. There was only one person in our group who disliked the book. She had said she did not know what the big deal was to just change the name. You don't need to go to court. Just change it yourself. She hates her original name so she just shortened it. Personally I can't see what Gogol would change his name to. Go, I don't thaink that would work for him. I would reccommend it to all book clubs. It does relate to everyone not just be Indian but anyone who has had to relocate even to another region of the US.

 
  "It made you stop and think" by CarrolRita (see profile) 01/11/07

I enjoyed the book. It made me realize that every culture is really the same. When coming to a foreign country to live, it is hard to fit in with everyone else. If you find people who are from your old country, you will associate with them and in this way you will feel more comfortable with your new surroundings.

Carrol Sallas

 
  "A wonderful view of the immigrant experience" by dchase21 (see profile) 01/26/07

Our group truly enjoyed this book. The richness of the immigrant experience was one we could all relate to even if we were 2 or 3 generations removed. Lahiri's ability to make us see the difficulty of livin in two different worlds was a theme that ran throughout. Very good discussion book.

 
  "The story of a Bangladeshi immigrant family and it's assimilation into American life." by Vittoria198 (see profile) 01/27/07

The is a well-written first novel that will connect with those who are first or second generation Americans. The story is one that brings to light many of the issues that immigrants and their children face as they try to maintain a connection to their past while integrating into a new life.

 
  "Wonderful character development with heartfelt, detailed writing." by evisann (see profile) 06/26/07

This book will touch the hearts of any American, whether immigrant, 1st, 2nd or 3rd generation. It is very richly detailed & has great character development. When reading, everyday paralels will inevitably be made. Stradling two worlds is very difficult & intimidating for children of immigrants, & Jhumpa Lahiri does a wonderful job of addressing the fears one might have in that situation; as if it's not hard enough for children to fit in even if not from an immigrant family. I would highly recomend this book to any bookclub, it was a fabulous read.

 
  "I thoroughly enjoyed this book!" by hakchampagne (see profile) 07/29/07

While there is not a hard and fast plotline, this is an easy read and addresses very interesting cultural topics.

 
  "This was a beautiful book, very visual - the prose quiet and a bit restrained. Our group enjoyed the book, it led us to a varied and thoughtful discussion." by tsmithandco (see profile) 10/22/08

Our group enjoyed this book, it led to a varied and thoughtful discussion. It was not difficult to finish the book, I reached for it each day to continue the journey - yet I can't say it was a book that I just couldn't put down. It was tight and structured with descriptions that left me feeling that I had been peering into a dream. There were times that I could almost smell the curry cooking. An enjoyable book that I would recommend.

 
  "the namesake" by nu2335 (see profile) 06/23/09

 
  "The Namesake" by NewMexicoTam (see profile) 08/14/09

I liked the book. It taught me a lot about East Indian culture. I enjoyed the movie as well.

 
  "The Namesake" by catlady500 (see profile) 08/15/09

Well written. Good character development. Interesting information on Indian culture.

 
  "The Namesake" by 5martins (see profile) 11/23/09

I liked this book, but having said that is was slow moving and somewhat uneventful. You could see that this is realistic, but didn't have that much of an impact. Needed more of a punch to it.

 
  "The namesake" by lollygil (see profile) 12/27/09

Very interesting book with an inside look at a different culture's traditions and family ties. I really enjoyed it!

 
  "The Namesake" by CHAZRA_TMF (see profile) 03/29/10

This book touched me in away I didn't think it would. The pace of the story takes you on a journey and allows you to see and feel how a child and his parents adjust to a society that tends to shape and alter tradition, family, and the concept of self. It was a lovely book and I enjoyed it thoroughly.

 
  "The Namesake" by TaraRoss (see profile) 05/17/10

Have been born white middle class this gave me a different perspective on what it is to want and obtain the American dream from an immigrant point of view. This book showed the struggles of a child/teen that straddled two worlds, his parents tradiational background and that of an modern American culture.

 
  "Wishing for a different main character" by kamj3 (see profile) 10/25/10

The book is very worthwhile- beautifully written, intelligent and it gives the reader a good look at the struggles of Indian immigrant families. That being said, I found myself wishing that Lahiri had chosen to keep the focus of the book on the parents rather than the son (the "Namesake" as it were) as I connected with them more and found them to be more interesting and dynamic.

 
  "a favorite book" by mariah (see profile) 06/15/11

I just love this book! A favorite for me.

 
  "good discussion" by jaswift (see profile) 01/02/13

 
  "" by JoStARs (see profile) 06/15/14

The Namesake tells the story of the Ganguli family – parents, son, and daughter. The parents are immigrants from Calcutta to the United States. While the parents’ story is very interesting in and of itself, this is really son Gogol’s story. As a first generation Indian-American, Gogol tries to navigate his life between the old and new ways as best he can. With characters the reader cares about, The Namesake is a solid read, and I highly recommend it.

 
  "The Namesake" by ruckus (see profile) 01/27/16

Every book club member enjoyed this book. Plenty of material for discussion.

 
  "" by mpepplin (see profile) 10/11/16

 
  "Insight into culture " by sluce (see profile) 02/16/18

A beautifully written book that gives you an insight to a family that we can all relate too.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/22/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/10/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/02/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/06/19

Couldn’t put it down.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/07/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/03/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/23/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/31/19

I read this book for the second time and it stands the test test of time. Exploring the duality between eastern and western culture within one family, the Namesake is well written and woven tightly by good writing and editing. This is Lahiri’s best work so far.

 
  "" by kffcmf (see profile) 06/17/20

 
  "" by krilljack (see profile) 07/04/20

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...