Atlas Shrugged
by Ayn Rand
Paperback- $15.34

At last, Ayn Rand's masterpiece is available to her millions of loyal readers in trade paperback.

With this acclaimed work and its ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Fabulous, thought provoking & intelligent reading" by Flawless (see profile) 02/02/08

The most important book to read -- it's long for a Book Club, but fabulous to read!

 
  "Very long, tedious book. Somewhat juvenile ideology" by ellentambo (see profile) 04/04/08

I was glad to have read this book as an adult. I was not required to read it in college, and for that I am glad. I was able to see the significant flaws in the philosophy, the most blatant being the author's own life!! She could not live her own ideology. Characters were very flat and one-dimentional, and not believable. Our discusssion at club was very good, mostly because several members rated this as their favorite book ever.

 
  "Really dumb philosophy of life" by pennyslager (see profile) 05/30/08

When I got through the 900+ pages, my thought was "how stupid! This philosophy does not work in real life" and then I did some research on Rand, and found that it did not work in her life either. Worth reading on an intellectual level, but not worth the time it takes to read for a club.

 
  "Good Book but SO Long!" by CReed113 (see profile) 09/13/08

Book was very interesting and we had a lot of good discussions on it, but with a 1200 page book we allowed almost 2 months for everyone to finish it... and still not everyone did. It is rather daunting at first glance!

 
  "Great read to make you poonder how the work ethic of the world is necessary for life as we know it" by rlacourse (see profile) 09/19/08

I Found this a fabulous book to contemplate the workings of our social structure but also very long winded in places. At times I had to make myself keep reading, felt lost with no shore in sight, but was so very glad I did not put it away without finishing. Thought provoking and deep.

 
  "2.6/5 rated 1 to 5 by 5 members" by mindyhayes (see profile) 01/26/09

 
  "Incredibly applicable to 2009 economic/political environment!" by drobinson (see profile) 04/18/09

 
  "Long..... we get the point Ayn." by dcraggs (see profile) 10/09/09

Many of our club members read this book for the 2nd or 3rd time after 30 years. Most agreed that as a young person, we really consumed the book, almost with a passion, but on the second reading after 30 years.. Most found it repetitive and flat. Very 2 dimensional. It was agreed that some of the concept were revelant to today's environment.

 
  "one of my favorites" by steph.curtis (see profile) 10/20/10

Atlass Shrugged is long but it hold your attention very, very well. The characters seemed so real as you read, like they could be sitting with you. A must read.

 
  "Not my cup of tea" by tompatrice (see profile) 11/14/10

This book made for meaningful and enlightening discussion and members were split in their opinions about the book. To each his own...

 
  "More timely now than when Ayn wrote it" by lollygil (see profile) 04/23/11

 
  "Absolutely the BEST!" by nguziec (see profile) 08/08/11

 
  "Atlas Shrugged" by jkwolfe5 (see profile) 06/09/12

Although written in the 1950's, this book is more timely now than when written. It is long, and in the print version the font is very small--e book readers enjoyed the ability to encrease the font size. Although it is a formidible book, completing Atlas Shrugged is well worth the investment of time. It is profound and potentially prophetic.

 
  "Atlas Shrugged" by lisamellberg (see profile) 11/14/12

 
  "" by Chris@JAX (see profile) 06/29/15

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/11/19

 
  "" by mhk0604 (see profile) 06/12/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/03/21

 
  "" by KarenC (see profile) 04/24/22

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...