The Time Traveler's Wife
by Audrey Niffenegger
Paperback- $14.96

The beloved, mega bestselling first novel from Audrey Niffenegger, “a soaring celebration of the victory of love over time” (Chicago ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "A love story with a twist" by dancing-dog (see profile) 04/10/06

I enjoyed this book - the time-travel seemed to be a nice twist to add to a love story. The book alternates between Henry & Clare's points of view, as does the narration, which is a feature that I liked. Compared to other time-travel stories, this one related to real-life more so than any others I have read. Compared to other love stories, the time-travel was similar to stories where the characters flash back to the past.

Interestingly, in our club about half of the group could not get into the story and gave up never finishing the book.

My only criticism is that I think it would have been better if it had been about 2/3 the size it was - I think it could have benefitted from more editting.

 
  "A story of a love affair between a time traveler and the woman he encounters in his travels through time." by cherryf (see profile) 04/24/06

Although this is an enjoyable read, it is a romance novel, a genre my book group does not appreciate. Other than a discussion of time travel, there wasn't much material for discussion.

 
  "Entertaining, and brings up interesting issues concerning 'waiting'" by bskaat (see profile) 06/07/06

Of our 8 regular book club members, only one person did not like this book (she had trouble suspending her disbelief in time-travel). The rest found it engaging and entertaining. It provided us with a very interesting discussion of the themes and characters in the book. I highly recommend this book for a book group because it is entertaining and provided us with good discussion fodder.

 
  "A love affair through time" by KristinShoffeitt (see profile) 10/18/06

This was an amazing story. The characters were easy to relate to and written in excellent depth. I was sad when this book was over- it left me wanting to read more about them.

 
  "Fascinating" by mariauy (see profile) 01/23/07

I loved this booked, and found myself analyzing the ending and other scenes long after I had finished reading. It did take a little while to get up to speed since it jumps around - you have to get through a good bit of it to be able to follow the time-traveling. It may help to re-read the first 50-100 pages as one reviewer mentioned. About half of our book club loved this book, the other half didn't care for it (I think they found it difficult to follow).

 
  "The majority of people in our book club either did not like this book or did not finish it." by Ingerkoppenhaver (see profile) 02/06/07

There were many people in our book club that found this book to be too jumpy (jumping from time to time was difficult to follow) and at times too slow. There were many uncomfortable topics found in this book and as the book nears the end it becomes more intensly descriptive in the love scenes - which most people were uncomfortable with in our club. The idea surrounding this book was a good one and there are some ideas that are expressed well, as in how the main character deals or trys to deal with a chronic illness. But, all in all, the book leaves a bad taste in your mouth and ends poorly.

 
  "Not the book I wanted it to be" by stephaniekeltner (see profile) 02/13/07

I was excited to read this book...I kept trying to really get into it, but struggled. It just really didn't grab me and strap me to my chair. Most of the members of our club didn't like it, but it did bring up very interesting conversation, and for that I will give it a one thumb up.

 
  "A book about love and anticipation" by lexihohol (see profile) 03/14/07

 
  "An interesting read with lots of emotional twists and turns-I enjoyed it a lot." by Doodledaze (see profile) 05/05/07

 
  "Focuses on two main characters, Henry and Clare, and their lives together, with some time travelling!" by annawallace (see profile) 05/10/07

I really enjoyed this book - it had depth, and found it fairly emotional in parts! It also had many areas for discussion...

 
  "Love story about a man who travels through time and visits his wife as a young girl." by eckyi (see profile) 07/15/07

 
  "time travel love story" by maddiemac (see profile) 07/19/07

interesting concept but tough to follow, too much detail, very slow. Many books I can read very quickly, this one took me a while to get through. The last 100 pages in the book was the best part

 
  "good read, interesting" by rnns1999 (see profile) 09/07/07

 
  "gave our group plenty to talk about" by mprinz (see profile) 03/11/08

There were mixed reviews on this book. Only two out of eight enjoyed reading it. Many felt that, while the premise was good, and the author did an excellent job keeping details straight through all the twists and turns of time-travel, the characters were not well-developed, and some members found it hard to sympathize with any of them. Still, while the book itself may have lacked something, it left our group with plenty to discuss.

 
  "Enjoyable easy read, but with the language and adult themes, I can't fully recommend it to anyone." by iamom05 (see profile) 06/24/08

This book was enjoyable to read. It has a very interesting concept, but I think the author could have gone many different directions with it. There seemed to be a lot of fluff, non-essential, and not really interesting parts. But on the whole it was good. Our club agreed that there was something off about the main character Clare, but couldn't quite put a finger on it. I don't feel my time was wasted. Not my favorite book, but not it wasn't bad either.

 
  "Good book needed a better editor" by hartleystudio (see profile) 06/24/08

This was a great read and an enjoyable story. Ms. Niffenegger's attention to detail keeps the book interesting. My only criticism of the book is that it needed better editing. Some of the more interesting characters never get developed and some of the characters that you meet over and over again remain one-dimensional. The first half of the book was long and slow and could have been shorter but the second half was much more exciting and flew by. All in all, it didn't change my life, it wasn't the best book I ever read but it was a good story that had me thinking about my family and my destiny in a different way.

 
  "A good read" by Khains (see profile) 06/24/08

The jumping around in time takes some getting used to, but the author does a good job of making it as easy as possible to follow along. The last quarter of the book really keeps you reading. It is a interesting love story, and an I enjoyed piecing together the puzzle as I read. I thought it was interesting how their knowledge of each other's future helps them to be more caring when they are together. Clare patiently waits as Henry matures into the man she knew as a child (he is a bit of a hellraiser when they meet in the present), and Henry treats the young Clare with abslute respect because he loves the woman she would become and doesn't want to mess her up.

 
  "Great read!" by sherribeaty (see profile) 07/18/08

Survey says: 6 out of 6 people (tee-hee) enjoyed this meeting at Amy D's house last night. Thank you, Amy!

 
  "Fabulously intriguing" by mrs.nataleyvickery (see profile) 07/28/08

I found this book very interesting from the first chapter all the way to the very end. It is very sweet and romantic. I am not too fond of a lot of books because I need to be interested in the book from the very beginning to the very end and I have found that this book has done an incredible job of capturing my attention. I also loved that you felt like you were in the story watching it from just a little distance away. It really is a great book.

 
  "Good story - very unique" by jwebster21 (see profile) 09/13/08

 
  "One of my all time favorite books. So creative, like no other book I've read." by jennie.r.martin (see profile) 10/01/08

 
  "One of my most beloved books" by rubyslipper84 (see profile) 01/05/09

I am touched each time I read this. One of the most truly loving stories of our current time, stretching through to grab readers of any age.

 
  "4/5 avg of 5 members" by mindyhayes (see profile) 01/28/09

 
  "Intelligent and Romantic" by jeanniebean11 (see profile) 02/11/09

This book is a great mixture of intellect and romance. The author had great skill in creating such a complex timeline throughout the story. A great book!

 
  "A twist on traditional time travel tales." by zamak (see profile) 02/24/09

Great book for discussion. Many different aspects to a chrono-impaired love story.

 
  "A love story that surpasses the test of time" by kdy12570 (see profile) 03/05/09

I cannot explain how many ways I loved this book! The characters were so well developed and you completely believed into it. The many twists and turns kept you reading and reading--I had trouble putting it down! This is a must read--that's all I can say about it.

 
  "The Time Traveler's Wife" by jspratt170 (see profile) 04/27/09

Very imaginative love story. My book club really enjoyed this story. It will pull your heart strings.

 
  "time traveler's wife" by holland (see profile) 05/02/09

fun read. well written. perspective on love and marriage and faith leads to good discussion. is love freeing or binding?

 
  "Review time travelers" by shelleysnead (see profile) 05/12/09

 
  "The Time Traveler's Wife" by janeeyre1989 (see profile) 06/19/09

 
  "Epic and haunting love story" by karey7 (see profile) 06/20/09

I loved this book. I actually read it twice for two different book clubs over two years, and I picked up so much more the second time. Would definitely recommend it.

 
  "The Time Traveler's Wife" by thomasa (see profile) 08/06/09

I only read the first 25 pages. I disliked a naked man showing himself to a 6 year old. Disgusting. It was not sequential- I think I am too linear in thought.

 
  "Enjoyed it" by jlady11 (see profile) 08/13/09

 
  "Makes you think...." by nmiller (see profile) 08/20/09

 
  "The Time Traveler's Wife" by sheshetta (see profile) 10/01/09

This unique story tells the tale of a time traveler from the first person perspective of both lead characters, as one of the two leads moves back and forth through time. It is inventive, adventurous, and romantic. It is cleverly written and thoughtfully executed.

 
  "The Time Traveler's Wife" by dwoodard035 (see profile) 10/14/09

Some of the club members had trouble following the story line and others did not appreciate the way he kept appearing as an adult to a child. It was a creative idea.

 
  "I don't recommend this for a book club, or even a casual read. It was just OK." by sjfello (see profile) 11/02/09

 
  "The Time Traveler's Wife" by jkwolfe5 (see profile) 11/03/09

No one in my group enjoyed this book nor would we recommend it to anyone. Half the group could not bring themselves to finish this pointless book.

 
  "Too much and too long" by kamj3 (see profile) 11/20/09

The members of my club all seemed to like this much better than I, but we all agreed it should have been much shorter. While the concept was interesting and quite romantic, I didn't feel strongly connected to the characters and so didn't really care what happened to them. There are a lot of depressing, difficult topics in the plot and the group agreed it was too much.

 
  "The Time Traveler's Wife" by Cindyhu (see profile) 02/11/10

 
  "would recommend to others" by jenrose1975 (see profile) 02/17/10

 
  "Very Interesting Book" by jenmcneel (see profile) 02/17/10

Unique idea and interesting characters.

 
  "Expected More Depth" by mel29 (see profile) 02/22/10

I'm not a romantic so the love story of Henry and Claire didn't appeal to me, but I expected there to be something more. Some literary depth to the novel. I was left very disappointed.

 
  "The Time Traveler's Wife" by b3club (see profile) 04/17/10

Very romantic - wonderful love story although you must pay CLOSE attention because there are constant time shifts all the way through the book. I was able to follow it, but definitely had to concentrate harder than when I have read other books. Worthwhile, also saw the film - it was decent considering time limitations...

 
  "It was just okay..." by obliviona (see profile) 04/20/10

I had high hopes for this novel, and indeed it was impressively written considering this was Niffennegger's first work. I found myself having a difficult time finding a reason to truly relate to the characters. Although the conept was dynamic, I fel that the heroine's character was somewhat flat. Perhaps that was the intention - her life revolved around a man who was present one moment and gone the next.

I wouldn't necessarily recommend this as a book club pick, but would recommend it for someone who is interested in reading something that challenges your concept of time. Here's the best piece of advice on how to manage this book, which I read from a reader here on Book Movement...don't focus on where Henry and Clare are in time, but rather focus on being with them in the moment. Otherwise, the dates may become overwhelming and you'll be removed from their story.

 
  "Had a hard time getting used to the time travel at first" by chkahn12 (see profile) 05/16/10

After I reread the first 100 pages, I really liked the book. Sweet love story with a lot of adventure.

 
  "Really fast read" by Dragonlady63 (see profile) 05/24/10

 
  "One You'll Remember" by JustMe (see profile) 05/24/10

I liked the subject of time travel with this book and for the most part like how the author played out the story. At first it was confusing and that's the reason I couldn't give it 5 stars. Our entire book club liked it so I would recommend it for a book club read, especially if you watch the movie with your club afterwards. Lots of fun!

 
  "Interesting" by maclemme (see profile) 05/25/10

I thought this book was really interesting but had a bad ending.

 
  "Mixed reviews" by wnewcomer (see profile) 06/03/10

Most of us liked at least parts of it. Some found the format difficult and others found the time travel aspect hard to understand, but almost all of us were glad we read it.

 
  "Very deep" by sfarrie (see profile) 06/15/10

This book is very good and very well written. It may be a bit heavy for some groups.

 
  "The Time Traveler's Wife" by gourmet (see profile) 07/02/10

This is a story of a young man who time travels and a young girl he meets. Love develops through the years and they marry. Clare, the heroine, spends much of the time waiting and develops amazing patience and understanding as the hero, Henry, comes and goes.

 
  "Time Traveler's Wife" by CindyW (see profile) 07/21/10

 
  "Enjoyed reading this book" by cheern84 (see profile) 07/23/10

You had to follow the book closely but it was a beautiful read!

 
  "For the Love of Audrey" by ndeyton (see profile) 08/01/10

 
  "The Time Traveler's Wife" by cat6405 (see profile) 08/07/10

When reading, try to just read for the story and not keep track of the times. The chronology is very confusing. Our group had hard time seeing the purpose and theme of this book. Perhaps love never dies, but it is excruciating as you are waiting for your man to pop in and out. I didn't like the characters, and I wondered why Claire stayed.

 
  "Man meets his wife as a child" by Jakuy (see profile) 09/15/10

 
  "First I liked it, then I didn't" by Kandee (see profile) 01/03/11

I love time traveling books...I started off really liking this book but at the end of the book, I didn't like it anymore...and I have no idea why.

 
  "Humm" by dreamy420 (see profile) 01/09/11

 
  "Story drug on and on" by bjhamilton (see profile) 01/12/11

 
  "Time Traveler's Wife" by lbednar (see profile) 01/21/11

A little confusing, as it jumps back and forth a little, but as you really get into the characters you become involved with them. Definitely one you want to have on your reading list!

 
  "A great book" by Corgi819 (see profile) 03/10/11

A true love story--i was leary to read at first--but i reccomend this book it is great!!! But it kept you on your toes as it was a bit confusing--so much "time travel" Our BC enjoyed and we had a good discussion!!

 
  "travels into your heart" by readingissexy (see profile) 04/18/11

although it is about time travel,it's really a love story and you feel like you really get to know these characters. This story has a true life quality to it with also the unknown of time travel. I totally fell in love with it!

 
  "Love Over Time" by ebach (see profile) 09/06/11

Put shortly, Audrey Niffenegger’s THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE is the story of Claire and Henry. Claire meets Henry when she is 6-years-old and Henry is an adult. But in real time he is only 8 years older than she is. Henry is a time traveler.

Because Claire is not a time traveler, she is always in real time and grows up with Henry at various ages, sometimes older, sometimes younger. Sometimes they're both in real time. And we watch as their love develops.

But Niffenegger has put together a beautiful love story, not something drippy as love stories almost always are. And this certainly is not a romance novel. But THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE is also, obviously, science fiction.

After I began reading THE TIME TRAVELER’S WIFE, I thought it was going to be monotonous even if not a silly love story. The dialog was so well written, though, I continued to read it. But I’m not the love story type, so I still wasn’t optimistic.

It was the continual time travel that I thought would get monotonous. Instead, I became attached to Claire when the story was told from her point of view, then attached to Henry when it was told from his.

 
  "" by suewilker (see profile) 08/08/14

 
  "A page turner" by jaegeral (see profile) 10/15/14

A great book club book as it is something different and strays into a fantasy genre without being too far from the mainstream. It motivated a great discussion and all agreed the movie just did not do it justice.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/25/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/11/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/20/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/21/17

 
  "" by becelise (see profile) 01/12/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/10/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/22/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/08/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/26/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/17/19

Really liked this one.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/20/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/27/19

 
  "" by kbatson (see profile) 04/27/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/29/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/17/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/19/19

 
  "" by abbymarie330 (see profile) 08/06/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/27/19

 
  "Loved the characters! " by [email protected] (see profile) 02/24/20

I love the characters in this romantic novel the let you experience real love. There are a few parts in the book that are not convincing and cause problems in the plot. For example when the hospital puts ice on Henry’s feet. Also the scene of Henry’s death is odd because Niffenegger actually has cloned Henry and he is there twice as a time traveler. She makes this error at other times in the book. I’m not sure why the editors didn’t catch these errors that could have been easily fixed. The book is easy to read, well written and enjoyable,

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/03/20

Good

 
  "" by stefanieapplegate1 (see profile) 05/23/20

 
  "" by krilljack (see profile) 07/04/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/06/21

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...