The Catcher in the Rye
by J.D. Salinger
Mass Market Paperback- $5.40

Anyone who has read J.D. Salinger's New Yorker stories, particularly A Perfect Day for Bananafish, Uncle Wiggily in Connecticut, The ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Classic American literature but are we reading it too late??" by julialily (see profile) 08/29/07

Somehow I kept wondering if perhaps I'd missed the mark on this one by about 25 years. I also forgot to remind myself that it was written in 1951. A time where words like puke and damn were highly forbidden. I found it to be a bit tedious and uneventful until I read "Understanding The Catcher in the Rye". This interpretation book shed a lot of light on this novel and what the author was attempting to convey. We were able to have a pretty good discussion and ultimately I found the book to be very deep and insightful into the workings of an adolescent boy's mind and the struggle between good and evil.

 
  "If you didn't read it in high school, it's worth it now." by showchoirnerd (see profile) 06/15/10

I read this book as a high school junior and have picked it up several times since. It is a well written book which, although dated, has stood the test of time, presenting situations which many people face today.

 
  "catcher in the rye" by emoreader997 (see profile) 07/06/10

this was probably the most depressing book i ever read, probably because thas was the word used most in this book,the main character uses very vivid and interesting destricptions while explaining his opinions on the people around him and how everything depreses him

 
  "Catcher in the Rye" by chefconnie (see profile) 10/16/10

This had to be the worst book I've ever read. Wouldn't have wasted my time but wondered what made it a classic 50 years ago. Surely there were better books to pick from to have labeled it as such.

 
  "Catcher In The Rye" by maureen54 (see profile) 12/01/10

The book was sad and a slow drawn out read. However if you belong to a 'must read before you die group' as I do /and organize, it is a must read. Because this book has very worthy concepts to discuss and ponder - it will not be a waste of time.

 
  "JD Salinger can write." by lizblair (see profile) 01/06/11

The Catcher and Rye is written in such a way to allow you to feel the thoughts of the main character.

 
  "Wonderful Book!" by rdfstrong (see profile) 01/31/11

 
  "Catcher in the Rye" by loislane (see profile) 02/06/11

 
  "The Catcher in the Rye" by kiwiob (see profile) 12/30/13

Although this book is fairly depressing to read, it is still filled with insight and at times is laugh out loud funny. The characters are very well drawn and interesting, and it is impossible not to find a soft spot in your heart for Holden Caulfield. It is a quirky little book, but I am so glad that I have read it.

 
  "Catcher in the Rye is a classic" by jfwalters (see profile) 01/29/14

I haven't read this book since high school, but really enjoyed reading it again. Great story and pretty much timeless.

 
  "" by gymbackmom (see profile) 10/18/14

 
  "The Catcher in the Rye" by KJmellen (see profile) 11/30/16

The book is character driven and takes you into the mind and thoughts of a teenager having difficulty figuring out where he fits in. It is set in 1948 New York but is timeless in the theme and can lead to great discussions about growth, maturity, and how people handle difficulty.

 
  "" by LizP46 (see profile) 05/02/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/24/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/10/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/05/19

 
  "" by KarenC (see profile) 05/18/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/09/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/12/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/30/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/29/22

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...