Code Name Verity
by Elizabeth Wein
Paperback- $9.32

Oct. 11th, 1943-A British spy plane crashes in Nazi-occupied France. Its pilot and passenger are best friends. One of the girls has a ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Beautifully written and constructed...all book clubs should read this one!" by marguaritem (see profile) 12/13/13

A fascinating book about friendship...with a little bit of history thrown in. I can't say much without spoiling it. Everyone should read this little gem of a novel!

 
  "Code Name Verity" by hermit1 (see profile) 03/26/14

This YA book is compelling but confusing, intentionally difficult to follow, with a heartbreaking climax. Suitable for older teens, the descriptions of torture are not detailed. Interesting especially for those who are not well read on WWII in Britain and occupied France, women pilots and women spies. Excellent read with a bibliography at the end for further study.

 
  "" by SaukvilleBC (see profile) 04/16/14

 
  "Code Name Verity" by cmares (see profile) 09/05/14

My book group was disappointed by this book. Most members of our group thought the first portion of the book was confusing...all agreed the second part of the book "Maddie" tied up the loose ends and was in general more interesting. However, most members did not care by the time they reached this portion of the book. Many members had looked at previous reviews and could not determine why "Verity" had such stellar reviews. We had a good discussion but most of the discussion was about what would have made the book better.

 
  "" by palr126 (see profile) 02/27/15

 
  "Complex storyline" by loldhamburns (see profile) 04/23/15

This book is very complex and has many layers to it. Because of this, it is a great book to discuss. We decided that we didn\\\'t like the subject matter of the book but it was a well crafted story.

 
  "Code Name Verity" by 154212 (see profile) 05/06/15

about courageous women...lots of interesting WWII history...and clever storyline...surprises throughout

 
  "WWII women pilots, friendship, spies, French resistance " by spreitzer50244 (see profile) 03/17/16

Well-written story of British women's roles fighting in WWII. Not a happy story with plenty of death, torture and maiming of the principal characters.

 
  "Code Name Verity" by ferncloward (see profile) 03/31/16

This book had so many intriguing characters. The discussion was lively. It was interesting to hear the members different aspects of them. I would highly recommend this book.

 
  "Code Name Verity" by debvan (see profile) 03/31/16

Very well written. Told in two voices about a friendship during WWII. It is a spy story and about women serving in the war. I don't want to give spoilers as there are many ah-ha moments. I would give it a 4 1/2 if possible here.

 
  "" by Ljwagoner (see profile) 02/07/17

This is a story of 2 strong young women. It's a story of their friendship. It's about the atrocities of war. It's a story of truth and strength.
"Careless talk costs lives"
"Fly the plane, Maddie"
"Kiss me, Hardy! Kiss me, Quick!"
"Second star to the right and straight on 'til morning "
P.201 "Patriotism is not enough- I must have no hatred or bitterness for anyone."

 
  "" by gabbins (see profile) 08/15/18

 
  "" by sltaylor (see profile) 01/12/19

 
  "" by [email protected]hotmail.com (see profile) 01/17/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/25/19

This book was unique in two main areas: The female friendship and a female perspective of women fighting in the second world war. Two areas i have not read about as much or hardly at all.
It left me with a big lump in my throat.
We all love happy endings but there weren’t many of those during that war.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/01/19

I really enjoyed the two different perspectives in this novel. I enjoyed the era of the story and how these two women had roles in making a difference, even if their soldier/pilot roles were actually a thing in WWII. It was hard to pick up in the beginning, but once you hit a certain plot twist, it was hard to put down. Very great read overall.

 
  "" by mindysauve (see profile) 02/28/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/04/20

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...