House Rules: A Novel
by Jodi Picoult
Hardcover- $19.04

The astonishing new novel from #1 New York Times bestselling author Jodi Picoult about a family torn apart by an accusation of murder.

They ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "House Rules" by KHooben (see profile) 04/29/10

Overall, our group really enjoyed the book. (Some guessed the ending right away and were sad there wasn't the usual dramatic twist at the end). Jodi really did her homework and gave great descriptions of what it's like to have Asperger's or live with someone who does. We discussed how we all need to be kinder to one another -- especially to those who are "different". Many felt badly for the "normal" brother, who was left to raise himself. Some parts were unrealistic (the mom turning her son in, having such an inexperienced lawyer, etc.) but the book moved along well and gave readers food-for-thought.

 
  "House Rules" by dianld (see profile) 05/12/10

Being the proud grandparent of two grandchildren on the Autism Spectrum, I'm glad to have read this book. Our club will be talking about it tomorrow. My 9 year old grandson has been diagnosed with Aspbergers and having this information available in a book by a great author who is so popular; will bring more understanding to the general public. Many people think that a person on the spectrum is a product of poor parenting.Thanks to Jodi for helping more of us understand.

 
  "House Rules" by b3club (see profile) 06/14/10

If you are a Jodi Picoult fan, you will love this book. Love the murder mystery aspect.

 
  "Uninspiring" by dukegirl32 (see profile) 06/17/10

The book started out well but then spiraled into a long, convoluted, unconvincing story. Provoked an interesting discussion about mental illness. Two of our members LOVE Jodi Piccoult's books and everyone hated this book. It would have made a great short story instead of a 500+ page book. Apparently the author wrote this in a year while working on a script for something else and it shows. Could use some SERIOUS editing. A lot of pointless story lines that just went no where.

 
  "House Rules" by mangan319 (see profile) 07/01/10

Another great book written by Jodi Picoult. It really was informative teaching about aspbergers syndrome. I really cared about the characters and needed to find out how it would end.

 
  "An OK book" by LauraAdams (see profile) 07/15/10

I have read most of Jodi Picoult's books and found this to be too familiar in it's writing. She has lost some of her surprise and uniqueness with each new book. I do like that she helps you to see the story from each side (and sometimes there are many sides). Her books are never bad or boring but just somewhat predictable. I wasn't really satisfied with the way it ended either. I would have preferred a more definite ending instead of leaving the reader hanging.

 
  "House Rules" by ncvlib (see profile) 07/21/10

This book is well written and she did her research but it is certainly not up to Picoult's usual standards.

 
  "Great insight into the mind of an Asperger's person" by puzzled (see profile) 07/27/10

 
  "Great book! Insightful and thought provoking." by onweddedbliss (see profile) 08/09/10

 
  "House Rules" by eviel (see profile) 08/12/10

very insightful and interesting to see the different view points of all family members! creative writing technique!

 
  "House Rules" by Tealshirt (see profile) 10/28/10

Our book group of 11 women all were really taken by this read.
Most of us thought it was Jodi Picoult's best yet. A few of us
(myself included) we not familiar with Asperger's Syndrome. And
had I picked up a magazine about it, I know it wouldn't have
stayed with me long.
The story about Jacob Hunt is a must read.

 
  "House Rules" by HotSalsa (see profile) 12/29/10

 
  "House Rules" by mkrupiak (see profile) 12/30/10

This book was very informative. I did not know very much about autism before reading this book. I liked the story and appreciated the ending.

 
  "House Rules" by dwenzel (see profile) 01/18/11

 
  "House Rules" by schmidt1radford (see profile) 01/20/11

 
  "Insightful yet unrealistic" by cedburn73 (see profile) 02/05/11

Piccoult's insight into a family living with Aspberger's Syndrome was on point. I thought Jacob's voice was very insightful into how his brain operated and she was consistent with his character. However, some of her characters were very cliche and I could have done without some of the romantic entanglements that she loves to add in her books. I thought it took away from the real heart of the book. I also didn't enjoy the fact that not one person asked for Jacob's story. I understood their motivations for not asking, but thought it was truly unrealistic - especially for a defense attorney who is defending him in court. The ending - well, there was no ending. Despite these shortcomings, I truly enjoyed the book. Anyone living with someone with Aspberger's or anyone on the Autism spectrum would appreciate Piccoult's insight into the disorder.

 
  "House Rules" by jkwolfe5 (see profile) 03/12/11

Another winner for Jodi Picoult and a great discussion book for my club.

 
  "House rules" by Beawillis (see profile) 03/13/11

Great book and story.
Horrible ending!!!!!!

 
  "Jodi Picoult fans will love it" by AshleyAsher (see profile) 03/17/11

I have read many Jodi Picoult books, and I feel as though they all start to sound alike. Frankly, she drives me nuts! She is a great writer, but her plots are ridiculous. I don't want to give anything away, but if you've read her before, you know what I mean. If you're a fan of her, this is another book that will keep you reading. If you're not a fan, don't bother because it will remind you of every other book she's written.

 
  "House Rules" by tlaws (see profile) 03/21/11

A very touching story involving a family with one child with a disability and one being "normal". But we find that the "normal" son has his own issues. A story of one woman's struggle trying to keep it all together, and believing her son who has Aspergers Syndrome, couldn't have carried out murder. A very good story, and as Jodi does so well a very good twist at the end. I recommend this book highly.

 
  "House Rules" by Kandee (see profile) 03/26/11

Jodi Picoult books are generally good books to have a book club discussion as she generally presents various sides of the topic. I learned a lot reading this book about Aspbergers. In her books, I always feel sorry for the "normal" child as they always seem to get forgotten.

 
  "Addictive but predicable" by thacbs (see profile) 03/27/11

 
  "Very good" by lastnamecain (see profile) 03/28/11

very compelling story!

 
  "House Rules" by picovitt (see profile) 04/02/11

Like all of Jodi Picoults books this one makes you think of the possibilities for an ending that we don't readily think about - I love the way Jodi writes and captivates the reader

 
  "House Rules" by BookClubkayaker (see profile) 04/03/11

 
  "Left the reader hanging at the end" by beachgirl (see profile) 04/04/11

You find out what happened to the main character's teacher, but not what happens to the main character, his brother or his mother. I am presuming this was an intentional ploy by the author, somewhat akin to the ending of the HBO series, The Sopranos - each reader can come to their own conclusions, but I prefer to have an answer! up until then, it was a very good book that was informative as well. I had no idea what Asperger's Syndrome involved before reading this book and I have a good deal of sympathy for everyone involved. None of them asked for what was happening in their lives.

 
  "House Rules" by vremijan (see profile) 04/14/11

I thought this book was slightly suspensful, intriguing, contained a lot of forensic science, and well written through the eyes of all the characters.

 
  "House Rules" by blsnshin (see profile) 04/20/11

Typical story style of Jodi Picoult...specifically taking a difficult and potential true situation and causing the reader to imagine how they would feel, respond, cope, etc. I liked it, and as usual with Jodi, found it very throught-provoking.

 
  "great" by tonyafaye (see profile) 04/20/11

I loved this book. At first, I was reluctant to read it because I didn't like the way a previous book from this author had ended. This book kept in suspense till the very end and I loved the ending.

 
  "Unique Crime" by hopewellmomschool (see profile) 05/03/11

Life with an autistic son and a typically developing son with a crime thrown in. Very readable.

 
  "House Rules" by wnewcomer (see profile) 05/03/11

A little longer than was needed, but interesting a could provide for good discussion.

 
  "House Rules" by wilharleybook (see profile) 05/12/11

 
  "Couldn't put it down!" by ashleyswann11 (see profile) 06/17/11

 
  "House Rules" by lisashawking (see profile) 07/12/11

 
  "House Rules" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/13/11

Jodi Picoult does her research, so this book was an insightful look at Asperger's Syndrome and it's effects on the diagnosed person as well as their family. The story was well-told and the characters were believable. I would have preferred more closure with these characters at the end of the book, but overall I enjoyed it very much.

 
  "House Rules" by ditrotter (see profile) 08/20/11

Well written and very interesting subject

 
  "House Rules" by freyapalmer (see profile) 09/01/11

I just love Jodi Picoult - she is able to really describle the core of human emotions and experiences.

 
  "Fast moving, insightful read" by jmhidding (see profile) 09/21/11

The book was a quick read. It was insightful as you learned about Aspergers Syndrom from various prospectives. I found it interesting with some mystery and several different relationships going on. It lead to a lively discussion.

 
  "House Rules" by amycarol17 (see profile) 03/12/12

 
  "A thought-provoking read" by csinnett (see profile) 04/23/12

This book was not one I chose to read and not something that would ordinarily have piqued my interest; and for the first 75 pages (give or a take a few) I was not impressed. However, I quickly adapted to all of the first-person narrative shifts Picoult used in the book and soon had a vested interest in the characters.

I felt the book was very thought-provoking and forced me to see how quickly I am to judge something I don't understand.

 
  "House Rules by Jodi Picoult" by bspourch (see profile) 08/28/12

Jodi Picoult fans loved this book; others not so much. Ten women attended our discussion, and the average rating was 3.6. The subject matter led to a good discussion, but everyone agreed that the book was very repetitive due to the events being told through the perspective of each of the main characters. The plot was unrealistic since it relied on the adults in the book failing to display the curiosity and intelligence of normal people.

 
  "Unconventional mystery" by clpurser1972 (see profile) 05/21/13

This was my first Picoult read and I was quite impressed. I enjoyed hearing the story from different character views. She did a great job of blending a mystery into the story too. The ending kind of left me hanging, but it was a face-paced, interesting book.

 
  "Insightful" by teatime (see profile) 05/28/13

Wonderful writing and story. Everyone loved it except for the ending.

 
  "Dealing with Asperger's" by mariank (see profile) 07/23/13

What a full day means to a family member with Asperger's a form of Autism.The book was very informative and keep you trying to figure out what really happened.

 
  "" by LissaW (see profile) 11/11/14

 
  "House Rules" by 121591 (see profile) 05/01/16

Good book up to the end. Then you feel the author just got tired of the story and stopped it with the fastest way out.

 
  "House Rules" by jeriwentz (see profile) 05/04/16

I would not have chosen to read this book on my own, but I am glad that I did. I learned a lot about Asberger's syndrome and some of the behavioral challenges for the person afflicted with it and for their family. The characters were very believable. Although I did not always agree with Emma's treatment of Jacob and her neglect of Theo, it was totally understandable how a single mother tackles an almost impossible situation. This was not a depressing book, but was a real page turner. A mystery, crime solving and detective work abound which makes this book very readable. Good choice, Jan.

 
  "House Rules" by Quiltnutt (see profile) 08/05/16

Jodi Picoult is at her best. She never stints on research. In this absorbing story of a single Mom raising one child with Asperger's syndrome and another in the middle of his teens, Picoult vividly describes each of their thoughts and actions. You are drawn willingly into the drama of their lives.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/08/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/11/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/29/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/17/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/16/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/26/20

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...