King Peggy: An American Secretary, Her Royal Destiny, and the Inspiring Story of How She Changed an African Village
by Peggielene Bartels, Eleanor Herman
Paperback- $13.15

The charming real-life fairy tale of an American secretary who discovers she has been chosen king of an impoverished fishing village on the ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Great Read" by MeJane (see profile) 07/28/12

I saw King Peggy on David Lettermen and she was adorable! The book is wonderful.

 
  "King Peggy" by nalleyo (see profile) 10/17/12

An autobiographal book the is happening now. One person can makea difference.

 
  "interesting" by KSREINEK (see profile) 10/17/12

this book reminds me very much of the main character in the Ladies #1 Detective Agency. She is the real life version. We have a travel book club, and our club found this an interesting read.

 
  "King Peggy: An American Secretary, Her Royal Destiny, and the Inspiring Story of How She Changed an African Village" by bmorrison36 (see profile) 06/19/14

My book group absolutely loved this book! It's the true story of a secretary at the Ghanian embassy in Washington who became king of a small fishing village in Ghana. King Peggy cleared out the corrupt government and brought the villagers running water and schools. The story is told with great humor. Apparently it is optioned for a movie starring Queen Latifah. What fun!

 
  "" by nshaffer (see profile) 08/19/14

 
  "King Peggy" by Nookuser1 (see profile) 09/01/14

I really enjoyed the descriptions of African life. Peggy is a compilation of a modern and a tribal woman. Very inspirational.

 
  "King Peggy" by Ktc24 (see profile) 09/06/14

Our Group found this book very inspiring even trying to eat at an ethnic eatery for lunch discussion! King Peggy demonstrated determination, perseverance, patience and skills that few have especially across thousands of miles. Some did have difficulty with the many references to "spirits",but realized it was a cultural belief.

 
  "King Peggy" by cherigar (see profile) 03/10/16

I loved this book and how Peggy handled all of the adversity thrown at her by her male elders and persevered in making changes and bettering the lives of her community and those around it in Otuam, Ghana. A great read, very informative and thought provoking. How the people live and depend upon ancestor tradition, yet Peggy blended those beliefs with her Christian beliefs and made new lives for her people. Wonderful.

 
  "King Peggy" by pagersp (see profile) 02/02/18

I thought this was very interesting to learn customs of other countries. I found it very frustrating that there were no consequences for the behavior of the elders of this village. I wanted them to be punished for their crimes. King Peggy showed much control in dealing with them.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/22/18

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...