Then She Was Gone
by Lisa Jewell
Paperback- $18.39

Ten years after her teenage daughter disappears, a woman crosses paths with a charming single father whose young child feels eerily ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/24/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/01/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/09/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/09/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/09/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/09/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/09/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/15/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/17/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/11/20

I couldn’t put it down. I started to figure out what was going on early in the book, but I still wanted to know more details and what actually happened.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/23/21

Loved it

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/10/21

 
  "A mother’s worst nightmare." by lpollinger (see profile) 08/03/21

Ellie Mack is fifteen years old and goes missing on her way to the library. Ten years later, Laurel her mother, meets a charming man who has a nine year old daughter who bear a slight resemblance to Ellie. As their relationship blossoms, Laurel has many questions and begins to doubt who her new boyfriend really is.
The is a very suspenseful and well written story. Even though you can figure out the twists and turns early on, you are compelled to continue reading to find out just how things were done.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/08/21

I liked the genuine portrayal of a mother’s struggles. I appreciated learning of the story from multiple perspectives. I didn’t like that it ended with all loose ends tied up in a bow.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/17/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/11/22

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/22/22

It’s fine. It’s easy to predict but dark so the shock factor has you thinking maybe she won’t go there but she does. Starts with switching back from “then” & “now” & quickly drops that format & is confusing as to who is narrating. Odd details but not about what you’d want detail about (like the girl who went missing). It’s a story. Wouldn’t recommend.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/02/22

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...