The Good Girl
by Mary Kubica
Paperback- $9.29

Click on the ORANGE Amazon Button for Book Description & Pricing Info

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "The Good Girl" by markandb1 (see profile) 08/29/14

Enjoyed the Before and After timeline and reading the story from 3 points of view. Couldn't put it down! Never saw the twist at the end!

 
  "Slow " by argoanne (see profile) 09/02/14

So it's not all together bad, but it drags on. The characters it focused on were not entirely interesting or maybe a little 2 dimensional.

Lots of details in the writing that didn't move the story forward or make it more interesting. i.e. the writer describes the a travel itinerary in more detail than she does how characters feel or react to certain situations.

The book is written in mixed sequence, mixing "before" and "after" from different points of view so it keeps you interested and keeps you from having to hear one character drone on and on.

I wish the author had expanded on what is revealed in the ending more.

 
  "" by ehames (see profile) 09/04/14

 
  "" by dsomme1 (see profile) 11/06/14

 
  "" by schorfhaar (see profile) 11/21/14

 
  "" by Michelle1977 (see profile) 11/21/14

 
  "" by AnnieTom (see profile) 11/24/14

 
  "" by wendyrn (see profile) 11/28/14

 
  "" by pmiske (see profile) 06/26/15

 
  "" by pdwyer1000 (see profile) 09/16/15

 
  "" by Grosland (see profile) 10/26/15

 
  "Interesting" by Melissa.shoemaker (see profile) 10/28/15

I enjoyed the book. It was a bit slow in the middle, but overall engaging.

 
  "" by Rups4ever (see profile) 11/18/15

 
  "Surprise!" by catzpawz00 (see profile) 11/18/15

Let's just say that no one foresaw the ending. Bazinga!

 
  "" by lucydog (see profile) 12/03/15

 
  "" by SUPERMOM2 (see profile) 12/04/15

 
  "" by KristinFarris (see profile) 12/18/15

 
  "The Good Girl" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/27/15

Our bookclub gave this book 3 stars - we debated on 3, 3.5, 3.75 and 4 stars and after discussion, agreed on 3 stars. It was a good book and provoked wonderful discussion however it had an unexpected surprising ending that didn't exactly line up with the character development.

 
  "" by Betsy4 (see profile) 01/26/16

This book kept my interest and had a surprising
ending

 
  "The Good Girl" by dlong819 (see profile) 01/26/16

 
  "" by d.molden (see profile) 01/27/16

 
  "" by libcich (see profile) 02/12/16

 
  "" by brodm01 (see profile) 02/12/16

 
  "" by janiejlo (see profile) 02/13/16

Easy read. Once you start, it's easy to finish. Page turner until the very end.

 
  "" by Klm50331 (see profile) 04/16/16

 
  "The good girl " by newcomerslinda (see profile) 05/11/16

Enjoyed the back and forth in time and characters. Never saw the ending coming. Interesting plot and characters.

 
  "" by brenstuhr (see profile) 05/25/16

 
  "" by TeenaST (see profile) 07/19/16

 
  "The Good Girl gets intense" by ccroft78248 (see profile) 07/29/16

This is a good read, chosen by my book club. The ending is predictable, but intense. The three points of view keep it fresh and keep the story moving along quickly. At first I thought it would be confusing going back and forth with Before and After, but it wasn't and I enjoyed it.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/13/16

 
  "" by elatal (see profile) 03/13/17

 
  "" by SandraF (see profile) 07/26/17

 
  "" by sheenaschlein (see profile) 09/27/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/02/18

 
  "" by acelis (see profile) 04/02/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/07/18

 
  "The Good Girl by Mary Kubica" by DD Reader (see profile) 09/05/18

I was engrossed from the beginning, which I attribute to the author's skilled writing style, and her use of equally strong, three main voices, telling the story from different perspectives. The main characters were so well developed I just went with the author's story as it unfolded, without much thought about the ending.

 
  " A Good story, a shock in the end " by ebach (see profile) 12/11/18

My description of Mary Kubica's THE GOOD GIRL will probably not do it justice. It is much better than it sounds.

Mia, a young woman from a rich family, is abducted. The story is told from different characters’ viewpoints in “Before” and “After" chapters. Mia would probably be surprised at how much her mother loves her and is afraid for her. But she would not be surprised about her father‘s attitude: uncaring.

When you think you have come to the end of the story, you really haven’t. There is an “Epilogue,” and it is a shock. I had to read it twice to believe what I was reading.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/24/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/27/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/03/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/07/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/05/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/05/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/09/19

 
  "Good ending" by lpollinger (see profile) 08/21/19

Mia’s father is a judge, her mother and sister are self absorbed. While in a bar one night she is stood up, again, by her boyfriend and leaves with a guy she just met, it turns out he has been hired to kidnapp her, but when the time comes to turn her over he can’t bring himself to do it. They flee, spending many months in the woods in a cabin while the hunt for Mia goes on.
While the story line was interesting enough and the ending good, the writing style left a lot to be desired. Not only did the time frame jump back and forth but the characters did also. It was a bit tedious.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/29/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/25/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/07/21

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...