A Discovery of Witches: A Novel (All Souls Trilogy)
by Deborah Harkness
Kindle Edition-

"A wonderfully imaginative grown-up fantasy with all the magic of Harry Potter and Twilight."
-People

In a sparkling debut, A Discovery of ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "A Discovery of Witches." by Neyly (see profile) 03/27/11

I like the book. I don't recommend it for book clubs for three reasons: its length (almost 600 pages), a slow start, and the not-so-simple fact that when you finish reading, it's obvious that you're not finished reading. The major plot points are not resolved at the end; there's definitely a to-be-continued ending. All that said, I did like the book and will pick up the next one - when it's published. The characters are strong and the mystery pulls you in (which is why I got frustrated with the slow start - the plot takes a back seat to character development for the longest time.) I guess I recommend the book, just not for book clubs.

 
  "Slow start, but great read..." by molsor (see profile) 03/31/11

This is our current book club read, and at first I was skeptical of how the book was going to turn out. It is almost 600 pages, so it is a challenge with a busy life to get it read in a month. It took about 150 pages for me to be interested in the book...but once I kept reading, I really love it! You can tell the author did her homework, and relates the characters pasts to actual events in history. I loved the alchamist, science, and phsychology aspect of the book and I can't wait for the sequel. This book is the first in a trilogy calle the All Souls Trilogy. The next book comes out in 2012...and I will be first in line!

 
  "Highly Anticipated,Highly Disappointed" by tonigiles (see profile) 04/04/11

I was highly anticipating loving this book. It was interesting from the historical perspective. The best part was the Bishops' house which didn't come into it until the last 250 pages or so. I was very bored with some of the detail and the lack of movement of the story. Explanations are wonderful, just don't make me read the same stuff over and over. I also didn't like the cliffhanger - sorry, not going to buy the second one.

 
  "A Discovery of Witches" by ajacques (see profile) 04/18/11

I love the fact that the character is forever discovering new things about herself and her powers. Can't wait for the sequel!

 
  "spellbinding" by readingissexy (see profile) 04/18/11

not your typical story of vampires and witches...the history pieces woven throughout the story make it more "real". You will fall in love with the characters in an instant!

 
  "A Must Read!" by micheleb (see profile) 05/14/11

If you love the tale of vampires, witches & creatures then this is a must read for you. It ranks up there along side Twilight & the Sookie Stackhouse novels on my list of favorites.
Can't wait for the 2nd book to come out.

 
  "Good book but not for book clubs" by Kandee (see profile) 05/15/11

Nice to read a supernatural book that isn't geared to young adults. I like that it combined history, books, witches & vampires together. I wish though that I knew it was the first in a series though. I kept wondering how they were going to wrap everything up as I got towards the end to only discover they weren't and that there must be another book coming.

While it was good, I don't think it's a book for book clubs.

 
  "A Discovery of Witches" by lindachilds7 (see profile) 05/18/11

I had fun with this book

 
  "A Discovery of Witches" by deannag (see profile) 05/19/11

 
  "Loved it!" by mecyr (see profile) 05/20/11

I couldn't put it down!

 
  "Interesting, but somewhat slow and boring" by tonigiles (see profile) 05/25/11

Interesting history and somewhat romantic. Overall the most intersting character isn't even a character per se. Disappointing and not planning on reading the next installment.

 
  "A Discovery of Witches" by judymessett (see profile) 06/09/11

Fun romantic book. Can't wait for the next book - coming in 2012.

 
  "Fabulous" by Ranne1 (see profile) 06/11/11

Loved this and I couldn't put it down....anxious for part two

 
  "A Discovery of Witches" by jomarbar (see profile) 06/17/11

Loved it, I'm totally sucked in! Deborah Harkness has created characters who live in a world where witches, vampires, and daemons exist and recognize each other. She weaves these brilliant creatures into present day and also gives us history of both worlds to enlighten and delight us. The evolving romance is captivating and when I finished the book I wanted more. So glad to find out there will be more.

 
  "A Discovery of Witches" by glittergoddess (see profile) 07/01/11

I liked this book and will definitely read the next two in the trilogy. I loved the "inside" information on all the creatures, and the romantic combination of witch and vampire. However some parts were a little too slow, and some of the events were a little confusing in that they were not described in enough detail. I am looking forward to the second book, maybe it will fill in some of the missing pieces.

 
  "More Twilight than Harry Potter..." by Kwizgiver (see profile) 08/13/11

Some of us enjoyed it, some of us didn't get into it. But we did have a good discussion about the settings and characters.

 
  "Adventurous Addictive Book" by ktohare (see profile) 08/18/11

I really could not put this book down once I started it. Needless to say I am anticipating the sequal!

 
  "Great Adventure! Excited to see what the next two books bring..." by KrissyW12120 (see profile) 08/30/11

I really liked this book after I got past the first chapter or so. Glad I didn't give up!

 
  "A Discovery of Witches" by antoinetteluzzi (see profile) 09/01/11

I loved this book!

 
  "A discovery of witches" by mik-it-geek (see profile) 09/07/11

Loved the entire book. Characters were well developed and struck emotion. Nice mix of supernatural, historic, and adventure. Can't wait for the next book!

 
  "A discover of witches" by thaicats (see profile) 12/19/11

I was so upset when the book ended. The end of the book indicates that there should be a sequel but it is going to hard to wait for. Good historical background combined with present day action.

 
  "Like Twilight for Adults" by kellymc (see profile) 12/27/11

I loved this book....like twilight but with adult characters! I can't wait for the next book to come out in the series!!

 
  "A Discovery of Witches" by hooks1023 (see profile) 02/01/12

I loved this book - I used the Audio copy instead of reading and the women that read was wonderful - I couldn't wait for my evening to come to an end so I could curl up and listen to this story - it was very relaxing for me! I have to admit - I thought I missed something at the end - but I get it now after reading more reviews - I will be waiting in line for the next book!

 
  "Something Different" by munichpeach55 (see profile) 02/09/12

At first I was oh no not another Witch and vampire book. It was an interesting premise aand it take longer for me to get into it. But once I did, I was hooked. Can wait for the next one!

 
  "A discovery of Witches" by KAndren (see profile) 02/27/12

The book got off to a slow start, but about a third of the way through I couldn't put it down. I usually don't like to read the witches type of book. But this one slowly sucked you in . It was almost bewitching...... I can't wait for the second to come out!

 
  "Good book" by lmccamy (see profile) 02/29/12

I am not a witch/vampire person, but this was a fun book.

 
  "An adventure throught history." by libraryghost (see profile) 02/29/12

 
  "Egregious" by camilleawright (see profile) 04/20/12

This book is poorly written, monotonous and predictable. Only one person in our book club tolerated it. I can't for the life of me comprehend how it has so many good reviews. Don't waste your time.

 
  "Discovery of Witches" by luvtink81 (see profile) 07/02/12

An interesting take on the paranormal genre. Really looking foward to the next book in the trilogy!

 
  "Thoroughly enjoyable!" by KimberlyAnne (see profile) 07/14/12

Intelligently written, a compelling read, looking forward to book two.

 
  "A Discovery of Witches" by jeanijeani (see profile) 07/27/12

I am so NOT a vampire witch fan! However, I started reading this book while on a cruise and could not put it down! I loved it! Can't wait to read the sequel! j

 
  "Not your typical witches and vampires..." by BookDivasReads (see profile) 07/27/12

Meet Diana Bishop, Ph.D., historical scholar specializing in alchemical history and a witch, a reluctant witch that craves to be "normal." Her love interest is Matthew Claremont, Ph.D., M.D., neuroscientist, geneticist (actually a true renaissance man) and vampire. Throughout the first half of the story Diana and Matthew appear to fight their attraction but build upon their timid friendship in the second half by falling in love and fighting for the opportunity to be in love. This fight, along with the discovery that Diana is not your typical witch genetically speaking, are the two big themes throughout the story. Diana, Matthew and their respective families must fight against the creature hierarchy that states that witches cannot be with vampires or daemons and vice versa. Is this done as a means of protection for the species or out of fear?
The other major theme is the discovery of a book that may shed light on the origins of these creatures and provide information on their potential demise. Needless to say the witches feel that this should belong to them, while the daemons and vampires are just as territorial on ownership. All three creatures fear the book falling into the wrong hands and are willing to fight to retrieve it.
These are not your typical vampires and daemons. The daemons in this story are artistically creative creatures that lean towards being slightly off psychologically speaking. Daemons apparently are born to human parents and don't "come into" their powers until puberty or around puberty. Witches are born to witch parents (one or both may be witches) and come into their powers around age seven. Vampires are humans that are reborn as vampires and require blood to survive, but these vampires are capable of being out during the day or night...and are long-lived.
Suffice it to say that there is a lot going on in this book and most of the action seems to take place over a few months, if not weeks. Sadly, the author leaves you hanging at the end, so grab book 2 SHADOW OF NIGHT asap.

 
  "A Discovery of Witches" by momandme (see profile) 08/09/12

I bought this book on a whim as it was a Barnes and Noble selection from my Nook. I was hooked from the first chapter. I devoured this book in 3 days which for me with a full time job was not an easy feat (much loss of sleep). I loved the characters, the story everything about it just pulled me in. I then learned that it had a second book, A Shadow of Night, which I promplty bought and ate that one up in as many days. I am now trapped in limbo as I wait this fabulous authors 3rd installment. Much to my delight it has been purchased by Warner Brothers and will be soon made into a movie. This is a smart, intellegent take on a vampire - witch love story with lots of depth and feeling. I have already hooked 4 of my friends on it and if you like this genre or are at least open to it, I think you will love it as much as I do!!

 
  "Twilight For Adults" by jovanovi (see profile) 08/21/12

Loved this book! The characters are so human yet are actually vampires, witches and daemons. I love how the groups that are never suppose to mix, do, and what each of their magical talents bring to the story. I'm looking forward to the 2nd and 3rd books of this series!

 
  "A Discovery of Witches" by papergirl (see profile) 09/18/12

While I always enjoy the historical aspect of a book, I must say that the magical quality of this book is what really captured me. I have certainly read books with witches, vampires and daemons before, but I really liked the way they are described in this book along with the relationships that are developed as the story progresses.
I was hooked from the get go-a good read. I am looking forward to A Shadow of Night!

 
  "A Discovery of Witches" by aoler (see profile) 10/01/12

Great book and the second in the series is just as good.

 
  "Beautifully put together" by Kellynlange (see profile) 05/05/13

I loved everything about this book, beginning to end had be captivated! Adventurous, romantic, well arranged, and best of all excellent cliff hanger! Looking forward for the second book!

 
  "An Addictive Read" by TinaLangdon (see profile) 10/15/13

It was a bit of a slow starter but once you push through and it starts rolling, you can't put it down! It brought up a lot of interesting thoughts on history & the occult.

 
  "Really good" by maikman (see profile) 01/17/14

 
  "" by tgunder88 (see profile) 04/28/14

 
  "" by fratt (see profile) 06/18/14

 
  "" by flickingerkaren (see profile) 06/18/14

 
  "Fun to read, but lengthly and needs editing..." by DeanaPar (see profile) 09/03/14

I\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'m liking this book (almost finished). The story premise and characters are great. But it\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'s nearly 600 pages long (not good for some book club members who can\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'t devote their lives to reading, or who read slowly) and drags a little in several places. This book makes me itch to edit :) I would love to \\\\\\\\\\\\\\\"get in there and slash\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\" as one Amazon reviewer wrote. Harkness has a great imagination and lots of historical material inserted that I find interesting, but it can be tedious to read sometimes and there are some things that just don\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'t need to be said a million times. Three stars. I\\\\\\\\\\\\\\\'m a tough grader.

 
  "A Discovery of Witches" by CABarney56 (see profile) 10/20/15

This book is very long and moves a little slow. It is reminiscent of the "Twilight" series. One member of our group described it as "Twilight meets Harry Potter."' Overall we enjoyed the book although I am not in a hurry to read the series.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/11/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/21/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/05/21

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...