Inheritance: A Memoir of Genealogy, Paternity, and Love
by Dani Shapiro
Hardcover- $9.15

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 

“A gripping genetic detective story, and a meditation on the meaning of parenthood and family.” —Jennifer ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "" by Ljwagoner (see profile) 02/05/19

This is a very moving and emotional memoir. The author takes the reader on her journey following results of a DNA test taken on a whim that lead her to search for a biological father. More importantly it is a journey of discovering herself. It raises many questions in regard to the ethics of sperm and egg donation, unknown medical history and what is family

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/05/19

 
  "Thought provoking content and beautifully written" by Homewithatwist (see profile) 04/22/19

Ms. Shapiro shares a touching story with her readers in a thought provoking way. Unfolding layers of past, present and future storytelling from a point of view that anyone can relate to. I especially appreciated the sharing of her Jewish faith and traditions and how it related to changes in her life.

 
  "" by dbublik (see profile) 05/04/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/09/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 08/14/19

 
  "" by LoriLichstrahl (see profile) 08/16/19

 
  "INheritance" by Carolynr (see profile) 10/23/19

probably a 2.5
it was an interesting book from the perspective of the ethical issue - sperm donors who donate anonymously and are then confronted with children in later years wanting medical information (I get it) and / or relationship.
However as mentioned in other reviews, I did have a bit of a hard time with the authors sense of what seemed like entitlement and disappointment that at first her biological father might not have wanted a relationship. It really seemed to me like she was looking for relationships that she might not have had when younger with her mother and maybe father.
However it seemed to end well for her so that is probably what really matters.

 
  "" by haskew1 (see profile) 10/28/19

 
  "" by TammyCar (see profile) 11/11/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/23/19

 
  "Inheritance" by bkmnmpl (see profile) 02/05/20

While the telling of Dani Shapiro's story lagged in spots, I enjoyed it. I learned a great deal about the Jewish culture, artificial insemination practices of the 60's, & the life journeys of children conceived through sperm donors. If you're interested in reading this title, I highly recommend the audiobook because it is read by the author.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/28/20

 
  "" by mommasue (see profile) 05/28/20

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...