The Memory Keeper's Daughter
by Kim Edwards
Mass Market Paperback- N/A

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "We had thorough dialogue, all enjoyed. Was a little depressing, but overall enjoyed it." by StaceySchwartz (see profile) 12/18/08

 
  "Tragic decision of a husband trying to protect his wife and the difficulties that follow them the rest of their lives." by bchamplin (see profile) 04/07/09

I liked this book. I thought the story was good. I grew up around Lexington, KY so many things were familar to me.
I have heard many UK students complain that Kim Edwards is not a very good teacher. Publish or perish, I guess.
Anyway it holds your attention, the characters are developed and the storyline stays interesting. There are several things you wish the characters would do different, make different choices, but in all it works out.

 
  "A Very Thought-Provoking Book" by ezzie36330 (see profile) 04/20/09

Kim Edwards does a great job of allowing you to experience the characters' pain and feelings in this book. Overall, a good book even if it is a little depressing.

 
  "Not quite sure" by katemurphy (see profile) 12/31/09

I thought this book had a lot of potential but it was just poorly written. The ending was odd, and only the beginning of the book flowed correctly. It was a nice idea but the plot was just generally boring and off.

 
  "The Memory Keeper's Daughter" by mgenduso (see profile) 01/17/10

 
  "Interesting Local Author" by olympia (see profile) 02/19/10

I liked this book very much although it did seem to go a little soap opera at the end. I guess I wished for better things for some of the characters. Beautifully written though and touches on a very important issue.

 
  "Never Believed the Characters" by KarenCl (see profile) 10/25/10

A few of us didn't even finish this one. We never felt the author made a good enough case for the marriage, so when there were problems, we didn't care or see the point. We also felt the characters were pretty predictable.

 
  "The Memory Keepers Daughter" by jennegurl (see profile) 11/19/10

I read some of the other reviews & cant believe people thought it was a horrible book. I loved this book, I couldnt put it down...I even got teary eyed @ one point. It kept my interest & made me want to keep on reading to see what was gonna happen next. I also saw the movie which was a great watch.

 
  "Inspires Hope" by tlathan (see profile) 12/02/10

Think twice - look to the future - how many people are effected by your actions/decisions?

 
  "The Memory Keeper's Daughter" by devoniris (see profile) 01/04/11

 
  "Frustrating" by CeliaB (see profile) 01/10/11

While we thought the writing was good, the story was pointless, the characters' motivations not well explained and overall, we just didn't see the point.

 
  "just gals with a side of vino" by tracystrassburg (see profile) 01/18/11

 
  "The Memory Keeper's Daughter" by rachpeddy (see profile) 02/12/11

Sad, but interesting. Found the ending/conclusion not quite fulfilling enough for me.

 
  "Dramatic" by Jadell (see profile) 05/03/11

 
  "pulled at my heart strings" by 24hrbooks (see profile) 05/10/11

 
  "The Memory Keeper's Daughter" by susangp (see profile) 07/02/11

Sad read. Moving.

 
  "The Memory Keeper's Daughter" by ksullivan (see profile) 07/25/11

It had a good story line, I just felt like it would have been better if it was not so drawn out.

 
  "A Discussion Starter" by TSLang (see profile) 08/09/11

 
  "Memory Keeper's Daughter" by ktbear (see profile) 08/29/11

 
  "The Memory Keeper's Daughter" by theflyersbaby (see profile) 10/17/11

This was a good read, even if a bit frustrating at times. It is my hope that all children, regardless of "ablility to succeed", find someone in their life like Caroline, who is determined that every "I can't" is turned into an "I can, and I did".

 
  "Lovely and sad." by sarelle (see profile) 03/06/12

 
  "Sad & Inspiring all in 1 book" by mybcjac24 (see profile) 06/24/12

Read this book twice and was shocked both times at how emotional I got throughout the book.

 
  "" by pagard (see profile) 04/07/14

 
  "The Memory Keepers Daughter" by rosalync (see profile) 05/27/14

The books was ok. I thought the author jumped around to different years a little often and sometimes had trouble following the story. I liked the movie better.

 
  "The Memory Keepers Daughter" by mrblock (see profile) 11/17/15

Why would a doctor give away his twin daughter at birth and never tell his wife or son? How has this decision affected his life and his relationship with his family? At what point does he finally realize that that decision has destroyed him and his relationships. Finally why is it called the Memory Keepers Daughter and what symbolism does his photography play/mean to the story?

 
  "The Memory Keeper's Daughter" by sassyseventies (see profile) 11/17/15

Insight into a father's secret when he makes a life changing decision about his newborn Down's Syndrome daughter...and how it affects his relationship with his wife and son.

 
  "Dealing with Down Syndrome" by karsu (see profile) 08/29/16

The author's approach to Down Syndrome and family relations provides a canvas for broader issues of rejection and acceptance, worth and redemption, choices and consequences.

 
  "" by kansasmama (see profile) 09/12/16

 
  "" by jfitzgerald (see profile) 05/08/18

 
  "" by krilljack (see profile) 07/04/20

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...