War Brides
by Helen Bryan
Paperback- $10.99

An international bestseller with over one million readers.

With war threatening to spread from Europe to England, the sleepy village of ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "women in war time" by msharry (see profile) 08/12/12

Great story of five women in a small village in Sussex during WWII-escaped Jew,American on the run, vicar's daughter, spoiled rich girl, and poor London girl sent to be a housemaid. We experience with them the Blitz, land army, victory gardens, rationing,evacuation of London children to the country, long separations for loved ones, fear of collorators and spies,resistance and homeguard efforts,attempts to smuggle Jews from Germany, war wounds and indiscriminate death.

 
  "War Brides" by TonyaB (see profile) 08/29/12

 
  "War Brides" by pafunk (see profile) 09/21/12

Thoroughly enjoyed the book. Author's detail to WWII in London was well done.

 
  "Slow Read but Ending was good" by out4air (see profile) 11/12/12

 
  "War Brides" by zoeypage12 (see profile) 11/16/13

Had read it before, but when reviewing it for our meeting, I got caught up in it again and reread it completely. It is one I will read another time.

 
  "Definitely a thumbs up!" by kstephe0009 (see profile) 02/06/14

Book Club all enjoyed the book - especially the development of the numerous characters.

 
  "I loved this story!" by leezhere (see profile) 02/09/14

The author brings together the most unlikely group of women, each courageous and loyal and unique, but with virtually nothing in common. From this serendipity, lives are changed, history is written and enviable lifelong friendships are forged. Well-written and engaging, one of my favorites so far this year.

 
  "War Brides" by klsands (see profile) 02/12/14

Well written book that describes the hardships the English lived through during WWII. Great follow-up book after reading The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society.

 
  "" by JaniceT (see profile) 05/31/14

Overall I enjoyed the book, however the beginning was very slow and confusing. It was difficult to keep the girls straight, there was too much information that wasn't needed to set the stage. Also the Introduction begins in the present then flashes back which is confusing because you don't know who any of the characters are. The ending was also disappointing and abrupt. The author didn't carry the girls through the end of the war, the story just ended and jumped back to the present. The stories were wrapped up mostly neatly but seemed rushed and left me we more questions. There were some historical inaccuracies but I was willing and able to overlook them for the story (most I didn't notice until after I finished to book and thought back on it). I still enjoyed the story and wasn't able to put it down at the end (probably why I was a little disappointed with the ending). It left me wanting more, more drama, and more of the story.

 
  "Makes me look at my Grandma with new eyes" by MargeJ (see profile) 10/28/14

I just finished War Brides. I enjoyed it tremendously and found that I had a hard time putting it down to get on with my daily stuff! I found some of the historical information slightly off (Glenn Miller Band) but it was a small detail. The look into the everyday lives of those living in England during this major world event was very enlightening….things most of us will hopefully never experience. It helped me to understand some of the ways my own Grandparents lived, even after the war! Very good book, well worth the read.

 
  "" by cbbc1 (see profile) 11/08/14

 
  "entertaining history" by tinemb11 (see profile) 11/10/14

I enjoy Historical Fiction because I am able to learn a little while being entertained.

 
  "" by nhuckaba (see profile) 11/10/15

 
  "" by BMHefner (see profile) 11/10/15

 
  "" by phoebe.terry (see profile) 02/02/16

 
  "Good Book" by mhk0604 (see profile) 10/13/16

This book was good, though several people talked about getting confused about the characters as they read.

The storyline was good. It wasn't too long, and it had a nice flow.

 
  "" by bayleaf (see profile) 11/02/16

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...