The Sound of Gravel: A Memoir
by Ruth Wariner
Hardcover- $14.35

A riveting, deeply affecting true story of one girl’s coming-of-age in a polygamist family.


RUTH WARINER was the thirty-ninth of her ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "THE SOUND OF GRAVEL by Ruth Wariner" by mistyviolet (see profile) 11/03/15

What a sad – and horrifying – life these children had foisted upon them by adults who should have cared for and loved them. It is hard to know where to start – with the father who wouldn’t give his children his name, a mother so blinded by faith she puts her children in mortal danger, a community that lives in abject poverty out of fear? – faith? – stupidity? It also shows the inadequacy of border patrols, government assistance, the safety net for children and women and on and on.
Ruth Wariner’s calm retelling of her childhood living in a cult was difficult to read. The life of this family caught in the blindness of the mother to the toxic and heartbreaking reality of her family’s desperation and danger is written in straightforward prose. Ruth’s ability to ultimately save the remaining children is testament to her strength of character.
I can’t say that I “enjoyed” this book, but it was certainly riveting reading. I was a bit disappointed that I didn’t learn more about fundamental LDS, but then that was not the point of the book.
5 of 5 stars
To the publisher: On pages 9 and 28 there is an entire paragraph describing the “swimming reservoir” that is repeated word for word. It was pretty glaring as I was reading.

 
  "" by markandb1 (see profile) 02/19/16

 
  "" by mara09 (see profile) 02/24/16

 
  "Sound of Gravel" by ncvlib (see profile) 05/11/16

This memoir was a captivating inside look at a young girl who had a deprived childhood in a polygamist cult. This was a gut/heart wrenching story of growing up with several of her siblings in a household in need of serious help with their disabilities,not enough adequate food, no electricity, no indoor bathroom, lack of adult supervision, neglect, physical verbal and sexual abuse, fear, filth & poverty. It is also a book about recovery, love and finding oneself through family. A must read.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/27/16

 
  "" by lynnephillips (see profile) 07/15/16

 
  "" by ejudson (see profile) 12/14/16

 
  "Well Written Memoir" by arizonamom (see profile) 04/25/17

Ruth Wariner shows the resilience of the human spirit with her strength to carry through with her promise to take care of her siblings.

 
  "" by nuthatch903 (see profile) 10/19/17

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/06/18

 
  "Sound of gravel" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/21/18

Very disturbing

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/10/18

 
  "" by TammyCar (see profile) 03/11/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 10/30/18

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 12/31/18

 
  "the sound of gravel" by Carolynr (see profile) 02/20/19

very similar to Glass Castle. It is very sad that there are true stories like this and that there are people who can relate to this. I'm glad that the author could forgive her mother for all that happened....not sure I can after reading this. I'm sure she DID do the best she could with what she had at the time....but I still felt it was awful
sad story but well written.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/25/19

 
  "" by thminchew (see profile) 05/30/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 09/28/19

 
  "" by showmekk (see profile) 05/04/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/06/21

 
  "" by PollyMD (see profile) 06/03/21

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 06/21/21

Once again, religion is used to manipulate one for another’s gain. These polygamous cult leaders use the “teachings” of the Bible to control and both mentally and physically abuse women. Some of the men, like Lane, tire of their wives and molest their own kids.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 07/14/21

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...