Her Fearful Symmetry
by Audrey Niffenegger
Paperback- $11.36

From the author of the #1 bestselling The Time Traveler's Wife, a spectacularly compelling novel—set in and near Highgate Cemetery in ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by BarbaraNizewitz (see profile) 10/17/09

All I can say is WOW!! This book is a must read. The tale that
the author weaves is simply incredible. There are so many sub plots that your book club will need an extra long session to cover them all! As I got into the book I realized that I was going to have to put my personal beliefs on the "back burner" and by the end of the book I said to myself.........."well, hmmm, maybe! anything is possible!!!"
Read it to find out what I'm talking about. You WILL enjoy this one!

 
  "Great read!" by mik-it-geek (see profile) 11/15/09

I found this book to have several interesting subplots that made you think about life's branches and the choices we all make. It is fun to read and you will want to finish it. If you have any thoughts of the the many possibilities of the soul - you will find it thought provoking as well. I have recommended it to others to read. It is not as confusing with timelines as The Time Travelers Wife but you do need to pay attention. Loved it!

 
  "Thought provoking" by lollygil (see profile) 12/21/09

There were so many different levels of drama going on...where to begin! It is a page turner and a great discussion book!

 
  "Not great, just ok" by jenniferg (see profile) 01/10/10

This book was an interesting read and moved quickly despite it's size. Good choice for book clubs because there is lots to discuss. I thought the ending was predictable and anti-climactic.

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by shonda1509 (see profile) 01/17/10

This book starts out great but the ending fails to please. The relationship between the older twins and the husband/father is completely unbelievable. Huge dissappointment after reading "The Time Traveler's Wife".

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by fabiennepalu (see profile) 01/20/10

 
  "Very strange" by niferwolfe (see profile) 01/20/10

This book was extremely strange and bizarre.

 
  "if you like fantasy" by GrandmaNaNa (see profile) 01/22/10

This book was extremely difficult reading at first. The second half was much more engaging. the content was disturbing at parts. Death seemed to be dealt with in a disrespectful way. Seemed like a twisted fairy tale with a very sad ending.

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by NewMexicoTam (see profile) 02/12/10

Enjoyable read, held my attention. All of the changing identities can be confusing.

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by PAGES (see profile) 02/17/10

After discussing this book with the club last night we came to one conclusion...selfish. We found that all the characters in this book were typically selfish people, in turn making the book itself seem selfish. We found that there was too much historical information regarding the cemetery, which was a bit boring at times. it was a great "discussion novel" but definitely not one the group enjoyed reading.

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by k.ide (see profile) 02/18/10

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by Gwenyth (see profile) 02/20/10

I found that the first 3/4 of this book was really quite good/well written/curious. I really looked forward to my next read. However, the last several chapters including the climax and conclusion, took very weird turns which caused significant disappointment. It is worth a read I suppose as it should conjure up interesting post-read conversations. Just beware, this book is odd. Oh, and there were a couple of minor characters that didn't seem relevant. It's quite possible I didn't delve in far enough though as I was quite distracted by the theme.

 
  "The ending left me completely disappointed!" by jennseidman (see profile) 03/04/10

I enjoyed the beginning of the novel, but with all the back stories and build up, the ending just left me flat. I thought all of the characters were completely selfish and I didn't understand some of their motivations.

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/07/10

I loved this book; however, half of the book club did not. Some thought it was poorly written and did not make sense. They did not appreciate the spiritual nature of the book, as I did. I loved the ghosts and the whole idea what might happen after we die. All said, we had a wonderful discussion about these issues and the relationships between twins. We also loved the quirky character of Martin. Niffennegger knows how to spin a tale that is "out of this world!"

 
  "Great read!" by suebooksri (see profile) 03/10/10

If you were a fan of "The Time Traveler's Wife", you will love this book. This author has such a great writing style and this story is so different than anything I've read before, I couldn't put it down.

 
  "A Fearful Symmetry" by 2boys (see profile) 03/10/10

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by blackberry (see profile) 04/19/10

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by redrose (see profile) 04/22/10

I really liked this book because it was different and kind of dark.

 
  "I did not like this book" by max6767 (see profile) 04/25/10

I figured that I would like this book because I liked "The Time Traveler's Wife" by the same author. But I thought this book was just boring.

 
  "So different from Time Traveler's" by kdy12570 (see profile) 04/28/10

If I didn't know she wrote them both, I would have never guessed it. Our club mostly liked the book, until the one pivotal point in the end in which we didn't really "buy it" any more. I don't want to go into specifics to spoil the plot. That being said, there were plenty to talk about and it was an enjoyable read.

 
  "Middle of the Road" by sgoodman (see profile) 06/08/10

This book was a solid read but in the end it was just middle of the road. It was interesting, but I had a hard time getting into it. I loved one of the characters though :)

 
  "OK, not great" by ekbgsb (see profile) 06/08/10

The book took a long time to get going, then had a fun scary part, then a very weird ending. We had a good discussion, but mostly about what we did NOT like about the book.

 
  "Too weird for me" by riegerd (see profile) 08/15/10

I just didn't like it. I expected more after The Time Traveler's Wife.

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by MichelleW (see profile) 08/16/10

Absolutely amazing book...ghosts, twins, intrigue, emotion. Just incredible!!!

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by Christine57 (see profile) 08/27/10

Although I did enjoy the Time Travelers Wife more than this book, I did like this book. The plot and character development was very good. The ending fell a little short for me. I felt the author was just trying to finish it up.

 
  "It was OK, The Time Travelers Wife was better..." by hdilaura (see profile) 09/04/10

 
  "Spooky, Romantic, Tragic" by kludke2003 (see profile) 09/21/10

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by Cutter7 (see profile) 10/19/10

Too scary and ghostly for me!

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by mreidy (see profile) 10/19/10

 
  "Not worth my time!" by cdanford (see profile) 10/19/10

This book was a disappointment. I truly loved The Time Traveler's Wife and was ready for a similar experience. Boy, was I ever blindsided. I kept reading, looking for some sort of point to all of the madness, but I could never find it. The story was downright nauseating at best. The only character I could find any sympathy with was Martin.

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by knothead (see profile) 10/20/10

I looked forward to reading this book as I loved Time Travelers Wife. I was very disappointed at the end of ....Symmetry. Never became invested in the characters, was annoyed more than anything. It obviously was well-written enough to keep me reading until the end - but I just kept hoping it would get better. Would not recommend wasting time on this one.

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by rlacourse (see profile) 12/01/10

VERY Enjoyable if looking for something different! I think the book leads to many interesting discussions about everything from beliefs in the afterlife to twists of manipulation and dark webs weaved.

 
  "What an adventure!" by julnelms (see profile) 12/07/10

I loved this book, never read Time Travelers Wife but will now for sure. Audrey is a delightful writer and an unbelievable imagination. I felt like I needed to "hang on" in this book because I was "going for a ride". I did guess the last "twist" but was surprised by others.

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by RAHay (see profile) 01/28/11

As a parent of twins I was intrigued to read this. I found the last part of the story a little unsettling and it left me feeling empty at the end. I think it could have gone a different way and been a little more uplifting and not so gloomy. I would reccommend it only to hear what people have to say about it.... some liked it some didn't.

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by Sumbo (see profile) 01/28/11

Good character development, however I felt the story lost some steam near the end, which was quite dissapointing.

 
  "Most of the club enjoyed this book very much" by lindachilds7 (see profile) 02/26/11

 
  "weird characters" by Abby0814 (see profile) 03/13/11

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by pattipayne (see profile) 03/30/11

The book has little redeeming value. It is depressing and far- fetched. I finished the book, waiting for an "aha" moment but there isn't one.

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by dawnh3282 (see profile) 04/08/11

Far-fetched story with no redeeming value at the end. Characters were spoiled, self-centered people that I could not find likable.

 
  "creepy curiousity" by readingissexy (see profile) 04/18/11

you keep reading thinking where is this creepy tale going and then it ends very spooky. I kept imagining the girls like whisps of air barely visable to those around them...the whole story felt very eerie.

 
  "Her fearful symmetry" by ruthmartin (see profile) 04/22/11

Clever, intricate and well written. Each character has a unique obsession which provokes good discussion.

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry: A Novel" by mkrupiak (see profile) 04/25/11

I actually enjoyed this book. It is a little different, but so was the "Time Traveler's Wife". It was a love story on two levels, between a man and a woman and between twin sisters. It has a very sad ending, the point being sometimes you should leave things the way they were intended to be.

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by anniemac (see profile) 05/10/11

 
  "Her Fearful Symmetry" by phillipssixty6 (see profile) 05/20/11

not even close to the time travelers wife!

 
  "The Ghost in the London Flat" by ebach (see profile) 09/06/11

HER FEARFUL SYMMETRY by Audrey Niffenegger begins in a hospital room. A woman, Elspeth, dies and immediately thereafter watches her lover, Robert, mourn her. Somehow after that, though, her ghost is confined to her flat in London.

Edie, Elspeth's twin sister, lives in America with her husband and twin daughters, Julia and Valentina. Elspeth and Edie are estranged, and the truth of that is eventually revealed.

In the meantime, Elspeth has left a lot of money and her large London flat to J and V. And, as already mentioned, that's where Elspeth's ghost is.

Note, also, that J and V have a strange relationship with each other. Although it's understandable for twins to be close, their dependence on each other is quite strange.

Then V decides to do something about that. She could simply live her own life, but that's not enough. Instead, she and the ghost cook up a plan.

THE NEW YORK TIMES gave HER FEARFUL SYMMETRY a good review while the reader reviews I read were bad. I'd say it's someplace in between.

The book seemed pretty corny to me. But I stuck with it because Niffenegger’s fantasy, THE TIME TRAVELER'S WIFE, seemed corny, too, but still grabbed me. HER FEARFUL SYMMETRY didn't grab me.

 
  "Bookclub had lots to say about this book" by bookmobile (see profile) 08/22/12

I really liked this book. A couple of twists in the book. The characters are odd and quirky but that's part of why I liked the book. As I got into the story it was hard for me to put aside.

 
  "" by Carolynr (see profile) 04/03/16

20 year old twin sisters have an intense attachment to each other. Their mothers sister has died of cancer and left them her London apartment. The conditions are that their parents cannot enter it and they hav ego live in it for a year (their mother and aunt were also twins). The girls move to London and become involved with their neighbors, one of which was their aunt's lover. They discover that much is still alive in that area, including possibly, their aunt.
this book was written by the same author as The Time Traveler's Wife, so it does have an underlying theme of oddness. If you can accept odd premises, very good read.

 
  "Confusing ending" by Bruins (see profile) 11/14/16

Enjoyed the book up to the epilogue. It could have ended and been done.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/09/18

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...