Member Profile

Name : Shirley W.

My Reviews

Atonement: A Novel by Ian McEwan
 
Slow, Dramatic, Difficult
The delusions of childhood, the choices we make, the forgiveness we seek...

This story has so much to discuss! The historical view of the war as seen from both the soldier's and the nurse's perspectives, the prejudices of social class, and the misinterpretation of events from a childish perspective are just a few. The title perfectly describes the cental issue at the heart of the story--seeking forgiveness for wrongdoing, granting forgiveness to those who have wronged us. Great read!

Angela's Ashes: A Memoir by Frank McCourt
 
Insightful, Interesting, Beautiful
Tragic yet amusing Irish coming-of-age tale

Do not listen to those who say this memoir is depressing! It does deal with the great sadness that accompanies a life of extreme poverty, but it also illustrates the resilience of the human spirit. I found it to be filled with love, laughter, and hope amidst the tears.

The Art of Mending by Elizabeth Berg
 
Dramatic, Dark, Interesting
Story of how differently siblings can experience the same family life

Anyone who has ever discussed their childhood with their siblings and found they have totally different perspectives on growing up in the same household will be able to relate to this story. The book also addresses the human desire to remain ignorant of those painful things we really don't want to face up to in our lives. I especially enjoyed the description of the deep friendship the protagonist has with her best friend. Everyone needs a Maggie in her life!

The Normals by David Gilbert
 
I found the book to be quite funny in parts although the plot becomes a bit improbable especially toward the end.

Middlesex: A Novel by Jeffrey Eugenides
 
Interesting, Dramatic, Epic
Great characterizations

I listened to the unabridged CD of this book and absolutely loved it. I don't remember who the actor was doing the reading, but he was excellent.

The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
 
Dramatic, Interesting, Dark
Modern Gothic in the vein of The Turn of the Screw or Wuthering Heights

This is a fun book to while away a weekend reading. I was hooked from the start and had to force myself to tend to other duties, always wanting to escape back into the world of this novel.

The Persian Pickle Club by Sandra Dallas
 
Fun, Adventurous, Interesting
The deprivations of Depression-era Kansas are contrasted with the abundance of the friendships

The group of women who form a quilting bee in this novel are not unlike many present-day book clubs! Their friendships and conflicts kept me interested as well as the twists and surprises in the plot. Being a native Kansan, I felt the author captured the quiet rhythms of Midwest life quite well. Not Pulitzer Prize-winning fiction but very enjoyable and makes for a good discussion.

 
Book Club Recommended
Interesting, Slow, Beautiful
The Lake of Dreams

Wingshooters by Nina Revoyr
 
Book Club Recommended
Dramatic, Insightful, Scary
Wingshooters

Coming-of-age tale about what constitutes love and hate. Child narrator reminiscient of Scout in To Kill a Mockingbird.

Mudbound by Hillary Jordan
 
Book Club Recommended
Dramatic, Insightful, Interesting
Intense!

As pointed out at our book club meeting, the author expertly foreshadows the actions that will occur. Well-rounded characters. Lots to discuss with this one!

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...