BKMT READING GUIDES

The Sky Below
by Stacey D'Erasmo

Published: 2009-01-09
Hardcover : 288 pages
0 members reading this now
1 club reading this now
0 members have read this book
From a rising literary star ?in the tradition of Carol Shields and A. S. Byatt? comes this luminous story of a contemporary man's metamorphosis.
Andrea Barrett and Michael Cunningham have lauded Stacey D?Erasmo for the beauty of her language and her ability to create worlds that leave a ...
No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

(

From a rising literary star ?in the tradition of Carol Shields and A. S. Byatt? comes this luminous story of a contemporary man's metamorphosis.
Andrea Barrett and Michael Cunningham have lauded Stacey D?Erasmo for the beauty of her language and her ability to create worlds that leave a lasting impression. In her new novel, D?Erasmo reaches back to Ovid for inspiration in this tale of how the mythic animates our everyday lives. At thirty-seven, Gabriel Collins works halfheartedly as an obituary writer at a fading newspaper in lower Manhattan, which, since 9/11, feels like a city of the dead. This once dreamy and appealing boy has turned from a rebellious adolescent to an adult who trades in petty crimes.His wealthy, older boyfriend is indulgent of him?to a point. But after a brush with his own mortality, Gabriel must flee to Mexico in order to put himself back together. By novel's end, we know all of Gabriel's ratty little secrets, but by dint of D?Erasmo's spectacular writing, we exult in the story of an imperfect man who?tested by a world that is often too much for him?rises to meet the challenge.
(20090120)

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

No discussion questions at this time.

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
  "The Sky Below"by gourmet (see profile) 08/27/09

I did not even attend Book Club, which I dearly love, because I hated the book and found it totally pointless.

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...