BKMT READING GUIDES

Benito's Truth
by John Somerset

Published: 2023-09-15T00:0
Paperback : 240 pages
2 members reading this now
0 club reading this now
0 members have read this book
FOR FANS OF WILBUR SMITH, CLIVE CUSSLER & MATTHEW REILLY

A STORY OF PIRATE TREASURE, A GIRL & A LOVE AFFAIR FOR THE AGES

Benito's treasure is the second great unsolved Australian treasure legend alongside Lasseter's Reef. It involves the tale of one Bennett Grahame aka Benito ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

FOR FANS OF WILBUR SMITH, CLIVE CUSSLER & MATTHEW REILLY

A STORY OF PIRATE TREASURE, A GIRL & A LOVE AFFAIR FOR THE AGES

Benito's treasure is the second great unsolved Australian treasure legend alongside Lasseter's Reef. It involves the tale of one Bennett Grahame aka Benito 'Bloody Sword' Bonito, a Royal Navy captain turned pirate, a girl and a love affair that would shake the very fabric of the Spanish Main and the Royal Navy itself.

With a Chilian army marching on Lima and an impending blockade of its port, Captain Bennett Grahame of HMS Devonshire was entrusted by the Viceroy and priests of Lima with the so-called Devonshire Treasure worth $400 million in today's currency, ordered to run the blockade and return to port when safe. But Captain Grahame has fallen in love with the Viceroy's daughter Teresa, who no longer a virgin is ordered back to Madrid in disgrace aboard the galleon Santa Katerina Isabella, there to enter a monastery.

The Viceroy and priests of Lima never saw their treasure again. Legend has it that Captain Grahame pursued and attacked the Isabella to rescue the love of his life thereby becoming the pirate Benito, finally sailing across the Pacific to bury the Devonshire treasure in a cave at Queenscliff, Victoria, but despite a number of well-funded expeditions it has never been found.

Benito's Truth is a novel about what really happened.

Editorial Review

No Editorial Review Currently Available

Excerpt

Chapter 1?Love and War

The career of Benito the Pirate started innocently enough, with a swimming lesson.
Teresa Sanchez, only daughter of the most excellent Joaquin de la Pezuela y Sanchez, 1st Marquess of Viluma and Viceroy of Lima, led a life of privilege, mainly centred around the Viceroy’s mansion overlooking the port of Callao and the Spanish court attached thereto. ... view entire excerpt...

Discussion Questions

Discussion Questions from the author:

How have family relationships changed since Benito’s day?

What was the main asset Britian used to maintain its empire, and how does that compare to Britain today?

What were the consequences of Spain’s conquest of South America?

Teresa was unfaithful to her husband. Does this make her a bad person?

Is suicide ever justified?

Do you believe Benito’s treasure exists??

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
There are no user reviews at this time.
Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...