BKMT READING GUIDES

The Spy's Wife: A Novel
by Elizabeth Jane Hughes

Published: 2022-06-07T00:0
Paperback : 384 pages
1 member reading this now
1 club reading this now
0 members have read this book
Perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner, Emily Giffin, and JaneGreen.

How would it feel to wake up one morning and discover that you’re married to James Bond? Shelley has always believed that her husband is a mild-mannered management consultant—but then one morning his picture appears ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

Perfect for fans of Jennifer Weiner, Emily Giffin, and JaneGreen.

How would it feel to wake up one morning and discover that you’re married to James Bond? Shelley has always believed that her husband is a mild-mannered management consultant—but then one morning his picture appears on CNN above the headline “CIA Spy David Harris is Source of British News Leak.”

Quiet, self-possessed David a spy? Impossible! But while Shelley is still reeling from the first revelation, David’s photo is again splashed across the news—and this time he’s not alone. This time he has his arm around a beautiful, sun-streaked blonde, and this time the headline screams, “CIA Superspy and British Reporter in Romantic Relationship!”

In the weeks that follow, together and apart, David and Shelley dodge foreign agents and international media hounds (not to mention his desperate ex-lover) from Paris to Bogotá to Jerusalem. But more alarming than this game of hide-and-seek is the fact that Shelley finds herself fascinated and deeply, disturbingly attracted by the dangerous stranger her husband has become. Can she reconcile her dream of domestic tranquility with the fierce emotions that have suddenly taken over her life? Can she become the perfect spy’s wife?

Editorial Review

No Editorial Review Currently Available

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

From the author:

- How would you feel if you discovered your husband has multiple secrets from you?
- How has Shelley’s inability to have children affected her life and marriage?
- What do you think of David? Does your opinion of him change throughout the book?
- Why do you think Shelley is so drawn to the “un-David?”
- In what ways is Shelley’s relationship with her sisters dysfunctional? Are the relationships repairable?
- How does the arrival of Amy Joy change Shelley’s marriage? Does it change your view of David or Shelley?
- Do you think this is an accurate portrayal of a modern American Jewish family? What role does their Judaism play in their lives? How important is it that David’s parents were survivors?
- Why and how does Shelley try to mother the world? Is this a positive or negative trait?
- What does the trip to Disney World add to your understanding of the main characters??

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
There are no user reviews at this time.
Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...