BKMT READING GUIDES

The Woman I Was Before: A gripping emotional page turner with a twist
by Kerry Fisher

Published: 2019-03-19
Paperback : 330 pages
1 member reading this now
8 clubs reading this now
1 member has read this book

‘Wow, what a corker of a novel… exactly the sort of novel that creeps into your life and you don’t want to put down… will keep you turning the pages, anxiously, excitedly and soon to reach a thrilling conclusion.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

A new home can be a happy ending. Or a ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

‘Wow, what a corker of a novel… exactly the sort of novel that creeps into your life and you don’t want to put down… will keep you turning the pages, anxiously, excitedly and soon to reach a thrilling conclusion.’ Goodreads Reviewer, 5 stars

A new home can be a happy ending. Or a fresh start. Or a hiding place...

Of all the emotions single mother Kate Jones feels as she walks into her brand new house on Parkview Road, hope is the most unexpected. She has changed her name and her daughter’s, and moved across the country to escape the single mistake that destroyed their lives.

Kate isn’t the only woman on the street starting afresh. Warm, whirlwind Gisela with her busy life and confident children, and sharp, composed Sally, with her spontaneous marriage and high-flying career, are the first new friends Kate has allowed herself in years. While she can’t help but envy their seemingly perfect lives, their friendship might help her leave her guilt behind.

Until one day, everything changes. Kate is called to the scene of a devastating car accident, the consequences of which will test everything the women thought they knew about each other, and themselves.

Can Kate stop her own secrets from unravelling, or was her hope for a new life in vain?

From the bestselling author of The Silent Wife, The Woman I Was Before is a book about the things we hide from those closest to us – and the terrible consequences that keeping those secrets can have. Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult, Liane Moriarty and Diane Chamberlain.

Readers love The Woman I Was Before:

‘It’s been a long time since I read a whole book in 24 hours but there was no way I was putting down The Woman I Was Before. No one writes complex, painful family love like Kerry Fisher. Real and raw but funny too. Loved it!’ Iona Grey, author of Letters to the Lost

‘I was absolutely smitten with this book! I enjoyed it from the first page to the last.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘I loved this book – I lost my whole Sunday reading – just couldn't put it down!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Kate’s secret, when revealed, is gut-wrenching... An excellent read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘A cracking character-driven story that enthralled me.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

5 stars! Kerry Fisher has once again nailed it with this fantastic book about how our lives may not really be as wonderful as we like to present them on social media.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘This is the first book I’ve read by Ms Fisher and I thoroughly enjoyed every minute of it! It sucked me in from the beginning!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘Wives and mothers have an inexplicable need to use social media to share cozy snapshots and smart hash-tags that give the sense of a bright and shiny life. Kerry Fisher writes an endearing story about what really happens outside of the photo frame for women who are dealing with the challenges life brings. A wonderful read.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘There are secrets galore, some big, some bigger. Very well done!’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

Absolutely loved this book.’ Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

‘I enjoyed every page.’ NetGalley Reviewer

‘I really loved this book.’ NetGalley Reviewer

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

No discussion questions at this time.

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by Rups4ever (see profile) 01/23/20

 
by [email protected] (see profile) 08/05/19

Quick fun read for summer!

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Now serving over 80,000 book clubs & ready to welcome yours. Join us and get the Top Book Club Picks of 2022 (so far).

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...