BKMT READING GUIDES

No.
11


 
Addictive,
Interesting,
Dramatic

26 reviews

The Woman in the Window: A Novel
by A. J. Finn

Published: 2018-01-02
Kindle Edition : 449 pages
95 members reading this now
296 clubs reading this now
39 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 22 of 26 members

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

“Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.” —Gillian Flynn

“Unputdownable.” —Stephen King

“A dark, twisty confection.” —Ruth Ware

“Absolutely gripping.” —Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s ...

Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

Instant #1 New York Times Bestseller!

“Astounding. Thrilling. Amazing.” —Gillian Flynn

“Unputdownable.” —Stephen King

“A dark, twisty confection.” —Ruth Ware

“Absolutely gripping.” —Louise Penny

For readers of Gillian Flynn and Tana French comes one of the decade’s most anticipated debuts, to be published in thirty-six languages around the world and already in development as a major film from Fox: a twisty, powerful Hitchcockian thriller about an agoraphobic woman who believes she witnessed a crime in a neighboring house.

It isn’t paranoia if it’s really happening . . .

Anna Fox lives alone—a recluse in her New York City home, unable to venture outside. She spends her day drinking wine (maybe too much), watching old movies, recalling happier times . . . and spying on her neighbors.

Then the Russells move into the house across the way: a father, a mother, their teenage son. The perfect family. But when Anna, gazing out her window one night, sees something she shouldn’t, her world begins to crumble—and its shocking secrets are laid bare.

What is real? What is imagined? Who is in danger? Who is in control? In this diabolically gripping thriller, no one—and nothing—is what it seems.

Twisty and powerful, ingenious and moving, The Woman in the Window is a smart, sophisticated novel of psychological suspense that recalls the best of Hitchcock.

   

Editorial Review

An Amazon Best Book of January 2018: The Woman in the Window is a seductive and unpredictable novel, like the Hitchcock movies to which author A.J. Finn pays homage. Finn’s protagonist Anna Fox is a child psychologist who lives alone in a New York suburb with a case of agoraphobia so debilitating she hasn’t left the house in months. To occupy her time Anna watches film noir classics from her vast collection, interacts with people online, and sometimes spies on her neighbors. It’s all very innocuous until she sees a horrible crime take place in the house across the park, recently inhabited by a new family. Call the police and report it, right? Things are a little more complicated for Anna—exacerbated by her routine consumption of prescription drugs with a lot of wine. Author A.J. Finn throws curve balls where you least expect them; I gasped out loud and in public, twice, while reading this novel because I was so taken by surprise. In the gap of time since Gone Girland The Girl on the Train we’ve been asking ourselves, when will we find the next big must-read psychological thriller? I think A.J. Finn’s The Woman in the Window answers that question. —Seira Wilson, Amazon Book Review

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

1. How did you feel about Anna at the beginning of the book? How does your opinion of her change?

2. Why does Anna spy on her neighbors? Is it loneliness, curiosity, jealousy, or something else?

3. At what point did you start to believe Anna is an unreliable narrator?

4. Why do think Anna and Ethan developed a friendship?

5. How does Anna’s agoraphobia contribute to the story? Does her interest in old Hitchcock films contribute to her sense of paranoia?

6. What was your reaction when you found out the truth about Anna’s family?

7. What were the red herrings (false clues) in the book? How do they work to make the story more intriguing?

8. Were you able to predict the ending? If so, at what point were you fairly sure of the outcome?

9. Were you satisfied by how the book was resolved?

10. Compare The Woman in the Window to other domestic noir novels you might have read. How is it similar, and how is it different?

From Bookbub

Suggested by Members

what is the significance of the films she continues to watch and the escalating story line
Is this an accurate depiction of Agoraphobia
what story line within this book do you want to know more of?
by carolynturner@shaw.ca (see profile) 09/03/18

Does anyone have book club discussion questions for this book? Thought it was a great read but could not find any questions online.
by lucydog (see profile) 05/13/18

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by thespeechtherapygarden@outlook.com (see profile) 05/18/19

 
by catdunn82@gmail.com (see profile) 05/12/19

 
by sfarlowe@me.com (see profile) 05/03/19

 
by bergytown@aim.con (see profile) 04/26/19

 
by Rachelluckman11@gmail.com (see profile) 04/19/19

 
by ruddally@yahoo.com (see profile) 04/17/19

 
  "The Woman in the Window"by nmsanders34488 (see profile) 04/03/19

One of the best psychological suspense novels I have read in awhile!

 
  "the woman in the window"by Carolynr (see profile) 04/01/19

you can read the summary for yourself.....
I thoroughly enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down Someone called it a popcorn thriller. LOL! good description though. Its not a "deep" boo
... (read more)

 
by kerrybethkeene@gmail.com (see profile) 03/31/19

This is a test for Kris

 
by buggstang3082 (see profile) 03/29/19

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...