BKMT READING GUIDES

Caraval
by Stephanie Garber

Published: 2017-01-31
Hardcover : 416 pages
11 members reading this now
13 clubs reading this now
1 member has read this book

The acclaimed New York Times bestseller! Welcome, welcome to Caraval?Stephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of the unbreakable bond between two sisters. It’s the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world...

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

The acclaimed New York Times bestseller! Welcome, welcome to Caraval?Stephanie Garber’s sweeping tale of the unbreakable bond between two sisters. It’s the closest you'll ever find to magic in this world...

Scarlett has never left the tiny island where she and her beloved sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval, the far-away, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show, are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. But she nevertheless becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic with the other players in the game. And whether Caraval is real or not, she must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over, a dangerous domino effect of consequences is set off, and her sister disappears forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval . . . beware of getting swept too far away.

New York Times bestseller
#1 IndieNext Pick
Publishers Weekly Flying Start
Entertainment Weekly Best 10 YA Books of 2017
Teen Vogue Best YA Book of the Year
Amazon Best Book of the Year
Barnes & Noble Best Book of the Year
BuzzFeed Best Book of the Year
The Hunger Games meets The Night Circus. Grade: A-.” ?Entertainment Weekly
“Impressive, original, wondrous.?USA Today
“Spellbinding.” ?US Weekly
“Magnificent.” ?Publishers Weekly, starred review
“I lost myself in this world.” ?Sabaa Tahir, author of An Ember in the Ashes
“Beautifully written.” ?Renée Ahdieh, author of The Wrath and the Dawn
“Shimmers with magic.” ?Marie Rutkoski, author of The Winner’s Curse
“Darkly enchanting.” ?Kiersten White, author of And I Darken
“Decadent.” ?Roshani Chokshi, author of The Star-Touched Queen
“Like stepping into a living dream.” ?Stacey Lee, author of Outrun the Moon
“Destined to capture imaginations.” ?Kirkus Reviews
Ideal for fans of The Night Circus, Stardust, and The Hunger Games.?School Library Journal

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

No discussion questions at this time.

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by [email protected] (see profile) 12/12/18

I ???? this book. It had been sitting on my shelf for awhile and I loved every second of it! Can’t wait to read Legend and Finale.

 
by hercchick (see profile) 12/08/17

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...