BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Slow,
Gloomy,
Unconvincing

2 reviews

Noah's Wife
by Lindsay Starck

Published: 2016-01-26
Hardcover : 400 pages
0 members reading this now
2 clubs reading this now
2 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 1 of 2 members

In the tradition of Daniel Wallace’s Big Fish and Eowyn Ivey’s The Snow Child, a gorgeously written and fable-like novel recasting Noah’s Ark as a story of relationships, courage, resilience, and hope.

“Variously romantic, symbolic, philosophical, feminist, and fanciful, this is ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

In the tradition of Daniel Wallace’s Big Fish and Eowyn Ivey’s The Snow Child, a gorgeously written and fable-like novel recasting Noah’s Ark as a story of relationships, courage, resilience, and hope.

“Variously romantic, symbolic, philosophical, feminist, and fanciful, this is an atmospheric tale that meanders to a sweetly rousing conclusion. . . . Forget the ark, forget the patriarch. It's the women who tend to triumph in this modern take on an Old Testament parable.” 
– Kirkus Reviews
  
In loving Noah, his wife never imagined she’d end up in this gray and wet little town where it’s been raining for as long as anyone can remember. Newly appointed as pastor, Noah is determined to bring the eccentric townspeople back to the church, but the members of his congregation only want to keep their homes afloat. As the water swallows up the houses, the renowned zoo, and the single highway out of town, Noah, his wife, and their new neighbors must confront not only the savage forces of nature but also the fragile ties that bind them to one another.

Poignant and whimsical, playful and wise, Noah’s Wife challenges our expectations of love, commitment, and redemption. By reimagining this classic story in a new and modern light, the novel asks: how do we know when to stay and when it’s time to go?


Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

No discussion questions at this time.

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Noah's Wife
by 23annies (see profile) 04/20/17
The book was slow and not that interesting. I had a hard time finishing it. It was also pretty gloomy.

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
  "Noah's "by 23annies (see profile) 04/20/17

 
  "not sure I liked this..."by Carolynr (see profile) 04/07/16

NOah and his wife arrive in a little town in the hills where it has been raining since they can't remember when. But she and her minister husband attempt to revive the congregation but as the rain intensifies,... (read more)

 
  "Noah's Wife"by nbaker (see profile) 01/22/16

Noah's Wife was an interesting book to say the least. Noah is a minister who takes a position at a church in a small town where the past minister has apparently "gone missing" in the ever-r... (read more)

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...