BKMT READING GUIDES

Selfish, Shallow, and Self-Absorbed: Sixteen Writers on the Decision Not to Have Kids
by Meghan Daum

Published: 2015-03-31
Hardcover : 288 pages
1 member reading this now
2 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book

One of the main topics of cultural conversation during the last decade was the supposed "fertility crisis," and whether modern women could figure out a way to way to have it all—a successful, demanding career and the required 2.3 children—before their biological clock stopped ticking. ...

No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

One of the main topics of cultural conversation during the last decade was the supposed "fertility crisis," and whether modern women could figure out a way to way to have it all—a successful, demanding career and the required 2.3 children—before their biological clock stopped ticking. Now, however, conversation has turned to whether it's necessary to have it all (see Anne-Marie Slaughter) or, perhaps more controversial, whether children are really a requirement for a fulfilling life. The idea that some women and men prefer not to have children is often met with sharp criticism and incredulity by the public and mainstream media.

In this provocative and controversial collection of essays, curated by writer Meghan Daum, thirteen acclaimed female writers explain why they have chosen to eschew motherhood. Contributors include Lionel Shriver, Sigrid Nunez, Kate Christensen, Elliott Holt, Geoff Dyer, and Tim Kreider, among others, who will give a unique perspective on the overwhelming cultural pressure of parenthood.

This collection makes a smart and passionate case for why parenthood is not the only path to a happy, productive life, and takes our parent-centric, kid-fixated, baby-bump-patrolling culture to task in the process. In this book, that shadowy faction known as the childless-by-choice comes out into the light.

For readers of Brigid Schulte and Debora Spar

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

Suggested by Members

Please see list of Questions above
by MarlaTapper (see profile) 04/29/16

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Opportunity to Share
by MarlaTapper (see profile) 04/29/16
To be answered by those with children; choose any 4: 1) Did you ever consider not having children? 2) Would you have had children as a single mother? 3) Would you have adopted children? 4) Was it your idea or your partner’s idea to have children? 5) How have you managed both a career and raising children? 6) What is the most satisfying aspect of parenting? 7) What is the least satisfying aspect of parenting? 8) How would you describe your parenting philosophy? 9) How have Aunties played a role in your children’s lives? To be answered by those with no children; choose any 4: 1) Did you ever consider having children? 2) Do you still wish you could have or could have had children? 3) When did you decide not to have children? 4) What are the 3 main factors that led you to the decision not to have children? 5) What did your partner or parents or siblings say about your not having children? 6) What have you done that you would not have been able to do had you been raising children? 7) What kind of a mother would you have been? 8) What types of interactions have you had with children? 9) Do you find yourself more likely to form friendships with others who have no children?

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by KarenUK (see profile) 10/27/16

 
  "Opportunity to Share"by MarlaTapper (see profile) 04/29/16

Instead of evaluating the book, each of us answered 4 Questions of our choosing from a list of Questions, some designed for women who were mothers and some designed for women who were not mothers. (See... (read more)

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...