BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Interesting,
Informative,
Insightful

2 reviews

The Soldier's Wife
by Margaret Leroy

Published: 2011-06-28
Kindle Edition : 0 pages
8 members reading this now
14 clubs reading this now
1 member has read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 2 of 2 members
A novel full of grand passion and intensity, The Soldier’s Wife asks “What would you do for your family” “What should you do for a stranger” and “What would you do for love”

As World War II draws closer and closer to Guernsey, Vivienne de la Mare knows that there will be ...
No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

A novel full of grand passion and intensity, The Soldier’s Wife asks “What would you do for your family” “What should you do for a stranger” and “What would you do for love”

As World War II draws closer and closer to Guernsey, Vivienne de la Mare knows that there will be sacrifices to be made. Not just for herself, but for her two young daughters and for her mother-in-law, for whom she cares while her husband is away fighting. What she does not expect is that she will fall in love with one of the enigmatic German soldiers who take up residence in the house next door to her home. As their relationship intensifies, so do the pressures on Vivienne. Food and resources grow scant, and the restrictions placed upon the residents of the island grow with each passing week. Though Vivienne knows the perils of her love affair with Gunther, she believes that she can keep their relationship—and her family—safe. But when she becomes aware of the full brutality of the Occupation, she must decide if she is willing to risk her personal happiness for the life of a stranger.

“With its stunning and evocative description of the Guernsey landscape, its subtle and astute depiction of a woman’s relationship with her children, her lover, and her husband, this absorbing novel is utterly beguiling.”
—Rosamund Lupton, author of Sister

Includes a reading group guide for book clubs!

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

No discussion questions at this time.

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Guernsey Island-themed food
by Hillrat6 (see profile) 02/26/15
We enjoyed a stew, bean dish, biscuits and gâche, all Guernsey foods which we found on the Internet. We also had scones, tea and berries, which were mentioned in the story. We didn't have any brandy, which Guenther gave to Vivienne, so we enjoyed some port instead.

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by momin0306 (see profile) 02/26/17

 
  "The Soldiers Wife"by Alison8641 (see profile) 04/09/15

This is based on the overall feeling of my book club who enjoyed the book. I didn't really care for it. Most thought the setting, the feeling of despair and situation made a compelling story and believable... (read more)

 
  "Great Book Club Discussion "by Hillrat6 (see profile) 02/26/15

This was an interesting, if somewhat slow-paced, book. We all loved the time period (World War 2), and the imagery was evocative. However, the characters were somewhat thinly written and the overall... (read more)

 
  "The Soldier's Wife"by rkarpinecz (see profile) 07/11/14

Readers who enjoyed The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society may well be drawn to this book. I enjoyed The Soldier's Wife until the final page. I feel the conclusion was disrespectful to readers... (read more)

 
  "The Soldier's Wife"by srpowen (see profile) 11/29/12

This book was an easy read for me. It showed the life of residents on an island during WWII. It was an interesting story with some drama in it. The main character is easy and fun to follow. It's nice to... (read more)

 
  "The Soldier's Wife"by cskoniec (see profile) 08/29/11

Another aspect of life during the war and the personal conflicts and turmoil victims on both sides experienced.

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search


FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...