BKMT READING GUIDES

When I Found You
by Catherine Ryan Hyde

Published: 2011-09-29
Paperback : 504 pages
0 members reading this now
24 clubs reading this now
-1 member has read this book
"A stunning piece of fiction that explores family ties that go beyond a pure genetic relationship. Fans of Jodi Picoult will enjoy this well-crafted story that is impossible to put down." -The Book Bag, 5-star review

"Gripping tale of a boy raised at a distance...an engaging and touching ...
No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

"A stunning piece of fiction that explores family ties that go beyond a pure genetic relationship. Fans of Jodi Picoult will enjoy this well-crafted story that is impossible to put down." -The Book Bag, 5-star review

"Gripping tale of a boy raised at a distance...an engaging and touching read." -The Cambridge Review

"It is well worth reading and I wholly recommend it" -Chick Lit Reviews, 5-star review

"...it is the story of the life of a juvenile delinquent told in her sparse, economical style and is quite wonderful." -The Bookseller

WHEN I FOUND YOU is a wrenching story about the risks, sacrifices, and faith necessary to accomplish something larger than yourself--raise a child, save someone's life, and follow your dreams, even in the face of crushing setbacks and staggering odds. When Nathan McCann finds, and saves, a newborn baby abandoned in the woods, he asks the baby's grandmother to someday bring the boy around to meet him. She agrees, but by the time she brings young Nat around, the boy is an angry 15-year-old with a police record and dreams of becoming a professional boxer. And she doesn't just introduce Nat to his namesake, "the man who found him in the woods." She washes her hands of Nat and leaves him with Nathan. Now Nathan must learn how to be both a father and a friend to a troubled kid who doesn't want his help, doesn't trust anyone, and doesn't understand his own heart or the possibilities of his young life. Surprisingly gritty but ultimately heart-warming, WHEN I FOUND YOU will appeal to fans of Alice Sebold and Mitch Albom, and to anyone who has ever raised a child or followed a dream.

"Totally engaging. In a smooth flowing, economical style you are drawn in and need to know what happens. A wonderful book." -Love Reading

"A Powerful Book!...Catherine Ryan Hyde did it again! Another amazing book. Read it and you'll wish for more Nathans and Little Mannys on earth. I surely recommend this story of family, friendship, and love to everybody." -Len, reader review

"Unusual, moving, deft...Catherine Ryan Hyde is a powerful talent." -Marian Volkman, reader review

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

No discussion questions at this time.

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by mamabearreads (see profile) 07/04/17

 
  "When I Found You"by malliettjm (see profile) 06/08/15

Heart Warming

 
  "When I found You"by psilvio (see profile) 05/15/14

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...