BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Fun,
Pointless,
Poorly Written

15 reviews

Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir)
by Jenny Lawson

Published: 2012-04-17
Hardcover : 336 pages
39 members reading this now
98 clubs reading this now
18 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 12 of 15 members
For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris?Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
 
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives?the ones we?d like to pretend never happened?are in fact the ones that ...
No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

For fans of Tina Fey and David Sedaris?Internet star Jenny Lawson, aka The Bloggess, makes her literary debut.
 
Jenny Lawson realized that the most mortifying moments of our lives?the ones we?d like to pretend never happened?are in fact the ones that define us. In the #1 New York Times bestseller, Let?s Pretend This Never Happened, Lawson takes readers on a hilarious journey recalling her bizarre upbringing in rural Texas, her devastatingly awkward high school years, and her relationship with her long-suffering husband, Victor. Chapters include: ?Stanley the Magical, Talking Squirrel?; ?A Series of Angry Post-It Notes to My Husband?; ?My Vagina Is Fine. Thanks for Asking?; ?And Then I Snuck a Dead Cuban Alligator on an Airplane.? Pictures with captions (no one would believe these things without proof) accompany the text.

Editorial Review

Jen Lancaster, author of Jeneration X, interviews Jenny Lawson about Let?s Pretend This Never Happened

Lancaster: You appear to have a soft spot for dead, stuffed creatures, particularly if they?re clad in bowler hats or acting out a scene--please explain.

Lawson: My father is a professional taxidermist, so it?s not like I had a fighting chance. And besides, I think the real question here is, who wouldn?t be interested in ferrets in cancan dresses? Old anthropomorphic taxidermy is fascinating and I?ve collected an entire menagerie of creatures that make up my personal posse. Cuban pirate alligators, Shakespearean mice, heavily armed squirrels, vampire-slaying ducklings. I?m not sure how you say no to those. My husband can, but I?m fairly sure there?s something not right about him. Anyone who can turn his nose up at the Last Supper constructed of Victorian kittens has a problem. I suspect it?s because he?s a Republican.

Lancaster: Who would you say is more powerful, The Bloggess Army or the KISS Army? Compare and contrast.

Lawson: My gut says the Bloggess Army is a bit more intimidating because we don?t dress up like kitties, but I?d probably still pick the KISS Army because Gene Simmons scares the shit out of me. Plus, my fans are less of an army and more of a collection of misfit minions looking to have a good time. Actually, now that I think about it, there?s probably a lot of crossover with the KISS Army. We should host a potluck together.

Lancaster: Can you believe some people don?t know what a confidence wig is?

Lawson: Right?! It?s shocking how often I walk in with one and I hear people whispering about the poor cancer patient that just walked in. I?m not a cancer patient, people. I just wear a wig to increase confidence. Plus, if I really mortify myself, I can just run to the bathroom, throw away the wig, and come back in and ask everyone who invited the crazy blonde that just crawled out of the bathroom window. There is no downside.

Lancaster: What?s it going to take for Nathan Fillion to send you a photo of himself holding a ball of twine?

Lawson: I think it?s going to take Nathan Fillion holding a ball of twine. I?ve offered him thousands of dollars and he still rebuffs me. I have no idea what the hold up is, but I can only imagine that Nathan Fillion is allergic to either twine or to bringing smiles to the faces of strange women who really aren?t asking for that much, Nathan.

Lancaster: Complete this sentence: ?An oversized metal chicken??

Lawson: ?Means never having to say you?re sorry. Because it?s not towels.?

Lancaster: Snooki or Kim Kardashian?

Lawson: Alphabetically, or in order of who is most likely to fuck up the youth of America? Because those are two different answers. Or possibly they aren?t, now that I think about it.

Lancaster: What would you be doing if you weren?t writing? (?Hard time? is an acceptable and, frankly, the anticipated answer, FYI.)

Lawson: Well, I was going to say ?hard time? but now you?ve ruined it. Which makes me feel stabby. Which leads to hard time. I think this is an example of circular logic. In real life, though, I?d be writing. Before my book it was blogging and before blogging, it was journaling and several times in between, it was graffiti. Writers write always. I thought Ray Bradbury said that, but I can?t find the quote anywhere so I?m taking credit for it. Writers write always.

Lancaster: I don?t consider you a mommyblogger, but many PR companies do. What?s the worst pitch you?ve gotten?

Lawson: Once a PR exec accidentally ?replied to all? and called me ?a fucking bitch? after I asked them to stop sending me pitches about a Kardashian wearing panty hose. He replied that I should feel flattered that I was even viewed as relevant enough to be pitched to, and I replied ?Please stand by for a demonstration of relevancy? and tweeted it out to hundreds of thousands of people. It was kind of awesome. And terrifying.

Lancaster: Wil Wheaton or William Shatner?

Lawson: Wil Wheaton. Unless we?re doing the ?destroying America thing? again. Then I have to recalculate. William Shatner and I are still recovering from a feud that was covered by MSNBC and Gawker when he refused to come to my house after I apparently offered him the wrong type of hooker. That man is a damn diva. Wil Wheaton, on the other hand, is an officer and a gentleman. William Shatner could learn a lot from that man.

Lancaster: If you had one piece of advice for someone hoping to follow your career path, what would it be?

Lawson: My one word of advice would be ?FORTHELOVEOOFGODDON?T.? I?ve fallen backward into this, and I have done every single thing wrong. I have no sacred cows and am fairly unmarketable to any mainstream advertisers. I burn bridges because I like the pretty way they glow and I do exactly the opposite of everything I?m ever told to do. Thank God there?s a steady stream of intellectual misfits and misanthropic joy-seekers who get me, because that?s the only thing that?s saved me. Finding my tribe was a great gift that the Internet gave me. I returned the favor with tweets about shit my cat was doing. We?re pretty even.

Lancaster: What?s it like to ride around in your head for the day?

Lawson: Cramped. Exhausting. Exhilarating. Baffling. I have no way to compare it, but whenever I let slip the bizarre things I?m thinking about, people seem alarmed and step away slowly, so I think ?disorientating? is probably fair as well.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

Suggested by Members

Throughout the book Lawson jumps back and forth through time. She even comments on her lack of linear organization. What did you think of this? Did it confuse you? Did it add something?
Jenny uses the turkeys going into her school as a lesson to teach her to accept herself—flaws and all. Have you had a similar moment? What was it?
What was your favorite story? Why?
by RockinRenee (see profile) 08/12/13

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Make Texas Sheet Cake
by RockinRenee (see profile) 08/12/13
Lawson grew up and lived her life in Texas, so I made a Texas Sheet Cake to honor the book.

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by mpaniaguatej (see profile) 11/26/19

 
by Mportala (see profile) 03/01/16

 
  "Let's pretend I didn't read this"by ccroft78248 (see profile) 04/07/15

I struggled with this book. It is filled with anger and conflict so it was not pleasurable to read. I hope the author was able to come to terms with her upbringing in West Texas and able to find a way... (read more)

 
by denisekahr (see profile) 09/24/14

 
  "A Hilariously Wonderful Story about Life, Love, and Accepting Yourself As You Are"by RockinRenee (see profile) 08/12/13

Jenny Lawson has written a memoir that will have you laughing out loud, but it will also move you deeply. As she tells the story of her life, she reveals a lesson that she learned from every experience... (read more)

 
  "LOL"by lkresl (see profile) 07/17/13

Literally I found myself laughing out loud while I read this - and many times! It's irreverant and there are parts where you think its too ridiculous but then I thought - no, I know people just like this.... (read more)

 
  "Great!"by shanamadams (see profile) 05/20/13

 
  "Not for the Easily Offended"by brnoze (see profile) 02/26/13

Now Jenny is one flawed human being, but I loved her and learned through her story. She is not afraid to open herself up to her readers and expose deeply personal life changing experiences. Jenny uses... (read more)

 
  " Let's Pretend This Never Happened: (A Mostly True Memoir) by Jenny Lawson"by juneshockley (see profile) 12/11/12

A pointless diatribe about experiences that may have an ounce of truth but in all probability were embellished beyond recognition. The first chapter was no different in substance than the 5th chapter... (read more)

 
  "Let's Pretend This Never Happened"by mcomai (see profile) 12/11/12

This was the worst book our club has ever chosen and the only one that was not finished by any member.Most gave up at about 25-30 pages in. It just wasn't even funny! The author uses sarcasm and foul language... (read more)

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...