BKMT READING GUIDES



 
Inspiring,
Life Changing,
Adventurous

1 review

An Unreasonable Woman, In Search of Meaning Around the Globe
by Shirley Deane

Published: 2010-11-24
Hardcover : 378 pages
2 members reading this now
0 club reading this now
0 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 1 of 1 members
In 1956, Shirley Deane, a young professional musician, turned her back on a recording contract and TV appearances to work her way around the world. She traveled to 67 countries, became the first woman to drive a Land Rover from England to Kathmandu, was kidnapped and questioned by Turkish police, ...
No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

In 1956, Shirley Deane, a young professional musician, turned her back on a recording contract and TV appearances to work her way around the world. She traveled to 67 countries, became the first woman to drive a Land Rover from England to Kathmandu, was kidnapped and questioned by Turkish police, offered a job by the CIA, was cured of asthma by an indigenous doctor in Kashmir, managed a clinic in a Tibetan refugee camp in Nepal, and stood against death threats to write and publish the first ever Who's Who of Black South Africans. And that's only part of her amazing story. Without the 24 pages of photographs, newspaper clippings, and other memorabilia, you might forget you are reading a memoir.

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

No discussion questions at this time.

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
  "A Must Read... Incredible Journey, Incredible Woman"by bbentz (see profile) 11/02/11

This book rates in my top 10 of all time. In the vein of Eat, Pray, Love, with a much more humanitarian and adventursome bend, given this story begins in the 50's. I cannot say it better than what Shirely... (read more)

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...