BKMT READING GUIDES

The Shifting Fog (The House at Riverton)
by Kate Morton

Published: 2009-03-03
Paperback : 473 pages
3 members reading this now
2 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book
From the #1 internationally bestselling author of The Forgotten Garden comes a gorgeous novel set in England between World War I and World war II. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished ...
No other editions available.
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
Jump to

Introduction

From the #1 internationally bestselling author of The Forgotten Garden comes a gorgeous novel set in England between World War I and World war II. Perfect for fans of Downton Abbey, it is the story of an aristocratic family, a house, a mysterious death and a way of life that vanished forever, told in flashback by a woman who witnessed it all and kept a secret for decades.

Grace Bradley went to work at Riverton House as a servant when she was just a girl, before the First World War. For years her life was inextricably tied up with the Hartford family, most particularly the two daughters, Hannah and Emmeline.

In the summer of 1924, at a glittering society party held at the house, a young poet shot himself. The only witnesses were Hannah and Emmeline and only they—and Grace—know the truth.

In 1999, when Grace is ninety-eight years old and living out her last days in a nursing home, she is visited by a young director who is making a film about the events of that summer. She takes Grace back to Riverton House and reawakens her memories. Told in flashback, this is the story of Grace's youth during the last days of Edwardian aristocratic privilege shattered by war, of the vibrant twenties and the changes she witnessed as an entire way of life vanished forever.

The novel is full of secrets—some revealed, others hidden forever, reminiscent of the romantic suspense of Daphne du Maurier. It is also a meditation on memory, the devastation of war and a beautifully rendered window into a fascinating time in history.

Kate Morton’s first novel, originally published to critical acclaim in Australia, and quickly becoming a #1 bestseller in England, The House at Riverton is a vivid, page-turning novel of suspense and passion, with characters—and an ending—readers won't soon forget.

Editorial Review

No editorial review at this time.

Excerpt

No Excerpt Currently Available

Discussion Questions

Suggested by Members

What benefit did the house staff get out of their relationships with Lords or Ladies?
by Bruins (see profile) 05/25/11

Notes From the Author to the Bookclub

No notes at this time.

Book Club Recommendations

Member Reviews

Overall rating:
 
 
by ehouston (see profile) 01/23/20

 
  "The House at Riverton "by Kimmieart (see profile) 09/14/16

Too long, nothing really happens until the last 60 pages.

 
by Campfield (see profile) 07/19/16

 
  "If you like Downton Abbey....."by alycia (see profile) 01/19/16

you'll love this book!

 
  "House at Riverton"by tonidezorzi (see profile) 10/15/12

Kept me engaged. I enjoyed the twist and ending.

 
  "If you like Downtown Abbey..."by celia4120 (see profile) 09/06/12

This book reminded me a lot of the TV show. I wouldn't say it was a literary piece, but it was a good summer read.

 
  "Slow to start out"by riegerd (see profile) 05/15/12

I had read The Forgotten Garden and loved it, so we chose this book. It was definitely slow to start. I agree with another reviewer in that it took me almost a third of the book to get into it. I almost... (read more)

 
  "The House at Riverton"by cow1js (see profile) 12/28/11

Usually like this genre, but found the book very predictable - basically everything I thought would happen, did. Disappointing.

 
  "The House at Riverton"by ChrisA (see profile) 12/08/11

Overall, I liked the book's overarching theme of the plight of upper class women in the early 1900's and the way of life changing in the wake of WWI; but it was difficult to invest in most of the characters.... (read more)

 
  "Riverton"by LoriHeavner (see profile) 12/04/11

Our bookclub for the most enjoyed the book and gave it 8 out 10 stars. Some did not rate as high. We all enjoyed the book overall but we felt the author could of done a better job in editing her book.... (read more)

Rate this book
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search
FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...