My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry: A Novel
by Fredrik Backman
Paperback- $9.90

A charming, warmhearted novel from the author of the New York Times bestseller A Man Called Ove.

Elsa is seven years old and different. Her ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "" by oatleysharon (see profile) 05/10/16

 
  "My Grandmother Asked Me To Tell You She's Sorry" by susier (see profile) 06/03/16

Fredrik Backman has captured my heart with his beautiful writing. He hit the ball out of the park with each of his three novels.. He has developed characters who stay with you long after you have completed the book.So powerful are his descriptions of each individual character that I find myself wanting to meet them personally! His insight into the human condition is remarkable. I have found a new "Favorite Author". Now everyone needs to read 'Britt Marie Was Here"! And Mr. Backman needs to keep on writing and delighting us once again with his gift!

 
  "" by Loriel (see profile) 06/14/16

 
  "" by kcharba (see profile) 06/29/16

 
  "" by holawasr (see profile) 08/24/16

 
  "" by tpolo@insight.rr.com (see profile) 08/31/16

 
  "My Grandmother Asked me to tell you she's sorry" by KayVr (see profile) 09/09/16

The writing/translation was a huge gift/joy in itself. The story a fantasyland of kingdoms and creatures yet a gritty reality tale--how little we know of the people around us when we are 7, and what a difference it makes to slide the world onto its axis when we do know, but the price of knowing is great. I had to put myself behind the eyes of a 7-year-old to really get into the book without adult judgment. Every character unforgettable, Elsa and Granny the most of all, of course. Getting to know these people was one of the greatest pleasures ... I am so glad I had to read this book for book group--might have missed a fantastic (in every sense of the word) read!

 
  "" by bryantb (see profile) 09/10/16

 
  "Lands of the Lost" by mopsickmom (see profile) 09/16/16

It is well written but I found it very confusing at times trying to remember all the "lands" Granny made up.
Liked "A Man Called Ove" much better.

 
  "Amazing Story" by lmsmith32 (see profile) 09/19/16

A bit complicated at first to put all the pieces together - but totally worth it, Backman is tremendous at weaving this story together. So many memorable moments.

 
  "" by Wvgirlygirl27 (see profile) 09/20/16

 
  "" by hands.amanda@gmail.com (see profile) 10/28/16

 
  "" by lmitchell (see profile) 11/30/16

 
  "" by jbecker (see profile) 01/22/17

A delight to read and follow the many threads that weave together in the end. Brilliant!!

 
  "Spicy little book" by jlove105 (see profile) 01/31/17

This book is full are sarcasm and delight. When I began reading this book I immediately text message my friend the title and author and told her she had to read this book. She asked if it would be a good book to read with her 9 year old daughter. That I had to say no to bc of the language. If it did not have the language in it it would be perfect for a pre-teen as well. But I have to be honest, although, I don't care for foul language, I giggled every time I read it. It was pretty funny.

 
  "My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry" by Dnjsc (see profile) 02/24/17

While confusing at times.. it kept me intrigued. The ending made everything fall into place.

 
  "" by barb.bentzinger@gmail.com (see profile) 03/08/17

 
  "" by KarenUK (see profile) 03/14/17

 
  "" by Ljwagoner (see profile) 03/20/17

 
  "" by cpoole@meigslibrary.org (see profile) 03/28/17

 
  "A good book club discussion " by maayday69 (see profile) 03/30/17

Book was ok in my opinion but others loved it. Our discussion was lively as we have a great group.

 
  "Choose "A Man Called Ove" instead" by MarlaTapper (see profile) 04/02/17

After reading "A Man Called Ove," this story was disappointing. If I had read this book first, I never would have picked up "A Man Called Ove" which was far more enjoyable. (By the way, I loved the movie, "A Man Called Ove," too!)

 
  "" by Almf123 (see profile) 04/13/17

 
  "Delightful story" by cskoniec (see profile) 04/24/17

A young girl loses her grandma and goes on an adventure to deliver messages to people left behind. She learns things about her grandma she didn't know and has very conflicted feelings. Grandma was quite the character and the girl has quite an imagination, making this book a fun read.

 
  "my grandmother asked me to tell you she's sorry" by KJmellen (see profile) 04/26/17

This book was challenging to many of our members. The fairy tales were not well developed and seemed to get in the way of the story in the beginning. Their merit became clearer as the book went on but for some of us this part of the book was poorly executed. There are great quotes from some of the characters and scenes in the book that make you laugh out loud.

 
  "" by lyndafio (see profile) 05/10/17

 
  "" by ccourtc (see profile) 05/17/17

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...