This Tender Land: A Novel
by William Kent Krueger
Hardcover- $18.90

For fans of Before We Were Yours and Where the Crawdads Sing, a magnificent novel about four orphans on a life-changing odyssey during the ...

Overall rating:

 

How would you rate this book?

Member ratings

 
  "Marvelous" by Silversolara (see profile) 09/03/19

The Lincoln School, an orphanage with horrible caregivers who beat the children and subjected them to even worse daily working conditions, is where we meet Odie, Albert, Mose, and then Emmy.

The three friends had to get away, and they had their chance one night.

We follow them as they escape with Emmy who didn't originally live at the school and move farther and farther away from Lincoln School and the horrors they had endured.

Following the three friends and Emmy down the Mississippi river and meeting the folks along the River was mesmerizing.

The trip down the river also seemed dangerous but was amazing how the friends always had another friend/stranger helping out.

THIS TENDER LAND's lush writing had me not wanting to stop reading because I didn’t want to miss their adventures, and I didn't want the book to end.

Mr. Krueger's writing pulls you in with his descriptions, lovable characters, and story line.

What a marvelous, master story teller Mr. Krueger is. His book even incorporated stories told by the characters within the book.

Mr. Krueger’s magic is indeed evident in THIS TENDER LAND and is a book that needs to be read by every book club and everyone who loves becoming engrossed in the lives of the characters in a book and an era.

This book is an absorbing tale of love, loss, and endurance and will fill your heart with the warmth that comes with feeling needed, helpful, and wanted.

You just have to read this book to understand its beauty and excellence. 5/5

This book was given to me as an ARC by the publisher via NetGalley.

 
  "God is A Tornado" by Kerrinhp (see profile) 09/12/19

My favorite book of 2019!

How special it is to find one of those rare and beautiful books that etches a place in your heart. This Tender Land is certainly one of those books for me. I have a feeling it will be on the best seller list for quite a while. Thank you to the author, William Kent Krueger, for sharing your heart with this book.

The book starts with the narrator, Odie O’Bannion, looking back upon events from the great depression. He tells the reader to open themselves to every possibility, for there is nothing your heart can imagine that is not so. Then he promises a tale of killing, kidnapping, children pursued by demons (and a very persistent Black Witch), courage, cowardice, love, betrayal, and of course hope. And boy does he deliver a magical story!

The story is an odyssey of four orphaned children who escape a horrible existence at an Indian School in Minnesota and try to travel via canoe to try to find an aunt in St. Louis, Missouri. The year is 1932. Odie, along with his brother Albert(the only two white children at the Indian school) their best friend Mose, rescue a young girl, Emmy, and take off with some stolen cash and a gun. They know they will be chased by the law and accused of kidnapping Emmy. As they follow the twists and turns of the great rivers they paddle, the four learn more and more about themselves. There are many well wishers, who always say to them “God be with you”. There are also several evil people, who shake their belief system entirely.

Odie O’Bannon, who was only 12 years old, tries to understand God, who had taken away his last hope of happiness with a tornado that killed Emmy’s mother who was his favorite teacher. He felt like at every corner of the journey the Tornado God had its ultimate purpose to deny the boy a happy ending. But as the journey continues, he realizes he can’t pin down God. The most important truth he learns is that when he yields to the river and embraces the journey that he finds peace. The other 3 children are also able to come to peace with their purpose, and to find a place they could call home.

On a scale of 1 to 5, I give this 10 stars. I really loved this book. I would highly recommend it to book clubs and readers who enjoyed Before We Were Yours and Where The Crawdads Sing.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/23/19

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 11/29/19

 
  "My favorite book for 2019" by leilani327 (see profile) 12/08/19

Starts a little slow and then you get drawn into the fantastic story. I couldn’t put it down and then I did not want it to end. My husband is reading it now and is also enthralled by story. A must read.

 
  "Pointless and Rambling Nonsense" by brnoze (see profile) 12/25/19

I really wanted to like this book. I tried it first in audio and then thinking it was the reader, picked up the book. Nope. It didn't work for me. The main characters are children that do not act like children, Their personalities are random. The folks they meet along their journey never rang true for me. I have read other books by this author and have enjoyed them. Sorry, not this one.

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/09/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 01/27/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 02/14/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/04/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/11/20

 
  "" by nancyj6975 (see profile) 03/17/20

Loved it!

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/20/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 03/26/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 04/09/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/01/20

 
  "" by Nancybee1974 (see profile) 05/06/20

 
  "" by [email protected] (see profile) 05/20/20

MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...