National Book Award Winners (Fiction)

Showing 21 - 30 Records Of 50  < Prev  1  2  3   4  5  Next >  

A Frolic of His Own

by William Gaddis
Published: 1995-02-10
Paperback : 512 pages
0 members reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book
A dazzling fourth novel by the author of The Recognitions, Carpenter's Gothic, and JR uses his considerable powers of observation and satirical sensibilities to take on the American legal system. Reprint. 30, 000 first ...
Also available in:
HardcoverLibrary Binding
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
List Price:
$25.00
Amazon's Price:
$23.38
You Save:
$1.62 (6%)


 

Interesting,
Insightful,
Informative

3 club reviews

The Shipping News

by E. Annie Proulx
Published: 1994-06-01
Paperback : 352 pages
2 members reading this now
7 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 3 of 3 members
Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, Annie Proulx’s The Shipping News is a vigorous, darkly comic, and at times magical portrait of the contemporary North American family.

Quoyle, a third-rate newspaper hack, with a “head shaped like a crenshaw, no neck, reddish hair...features as bunched as ...
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
List Price:
$16.00
Amazon's Price:
$6.95
You Save:
$9.05 (57%)


 

Slow,
Beautiful,
Unconvincing

3 club reviews

All the Pretty Horses

by Cormac McCarthy
Published: 1993-06-29
Paperback : 301 pages
8 members reading this now
7 clubs reading this now
3 members have read this book
Recommended to book clubs by 1 of 3 members
Now a major motion picture from Columbia Pictures starring Matt Damon, produced by Mike Nichols, and directed by Billy Bob Thornton.

The national bestseller and the first volume in Cormac McCarthy's Border Trilogy, All the Pretty Horses is the tale of John Grady Cole, who at sixteen finds ...
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
List Price:
$15.95
Amazon's Price:
$9.50
You Save:
$6.45 (40%)

Mating: A Novel

by Norman Rush
Published: 1992-09-01
Paperback : 496 pages
0 members reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
1 member has read this book
The narrator of this splendidly expansive novel of high intellect and grand passion is an American anthropologist at loose ends in the South African republic of Botswana. She has a noble and exacting mind, a good waist, and a busted thesis project. She also has a yen for Nelson Denoon, a ...
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
List Price:
$16.95
Amazon's Price:
$15.44
You Save:
$1.51 (9%)

Middle Passage

by Charles Johnson
Published: 1998-07-01
Paperback : 209 pages
4 members reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book
A twenty-fifth anniversary edition of Charles Johnson’s National Book Award-winning masterpiece—"a novel in the tradition of Billy Budd and Moby-Dick…heroic in proportion…fiction that hooks the mind" (The New York Times Book Review)—now with a new introduction from Stanley ...
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
List Price:
$15.00
Amazon's Price:
$6.52
You Save:
$8.48 (57%)

Spartina

by John Casey
Published: 1998-04-28
Paperback : 375 pages
0 members reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book
Winner of the 1989 National Book Award

A classic tale of a man, a boat, and a storm, Spartina is the lyrical and compassionate story of Dick Pierce, a commercial fisherman along the shores of Rhode Island's Narragansett Bay. A kind, sensitive, family man, he is also prone to irascible ...
Also available in:
HardcoverKindle Edition
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
List Price:
$16.00
Amazon's Price:
$11.42
You Save:
$4.58 (29%)


 

Pointless,
Gloomy

1 club review

Paris Trout (Contemporary American Fiction)

by Pete Dexter
Published: 1989-08-01
Paperback : 320 pages
1 member reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book
Pete Dexter’s National Book Award–winning tour de force tells the mesmerizing story of a shocking crime that shatters lives and exposes the hypocrisies of a small Southern town.
 
The time and place: Cotton Point, Georgia, just after World War II. The event: the murder of a ...
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
List Price:
$16.00
Amazon's Price:
N/A

Paco's Story: A Novel

by Larry Heinemann
Published: 2005-04-12
Paperback : 224 pages
0 members reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book
Paco Sullivan is the only man in Alpha Company to survive a cataclysmic Viet Cong attack on Fire Base Harriette in Vietnam. Everyone else is annihilated. When a medic finally rescues Paco almost two days later, he is waiting to die, flies and maggots covering his burnt, shattered body. ...
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
List Price:
$14.95
Amazon's Price:
$11.35
You Save:
$3.60 (24%)

World's Fair: A Novel

by E.L. Doctorow
Published: 2007-07-10
Paperback : 304 pages
1 member reading this now
1 club reading this now
0 members have read this book
"Something close to magic." The Los Angeles Times

The astonishing novel of a young boy's life in the New York City of the 1930s, a stunning recreation of the sights, sounds, aromas and emotions of a time when the streets were safe, families stuck together through thick and thin, and all ...
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
List Price:
$16.00
Amazon's Price:
$13.03
You Save:
$2.97 (19%)

White Noise: (Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition)

by Don Delillo
Published: 2009-12-29
Paperback : 336 pages
1 member reading this now
0 clubs reading this now
0 members have read this book
Winner of the 1985 National Book Award—from the author of Zero K 

Winner of the National Book Award, White Noise tells the story of Jack Gladney, his fourth wife, Babette, and four ultra­modern offspring as they navigate the rocky passages of family life to the background babble of ...
Add to Club Selections
Add to Possible Club Selections
Add to My Personal Queue
List Price:
$17.00
Amazon's Price:
$10.62
You Save:
$6.38 (38%)
Showing 21 - 30 Records Of 50  < Prev  1  2  3   4  5  Next >  
MEMBER LOGIN
Remember me
BECOME A MEMBER it's free

Join the leading website for book clubs with over 35,000 clubs and 20,000 reading guides.

SEARCH OUR READING GUIDES Search
Search




FEATURED EVENTS
PAST AUTHOR CHATS
JOIN OUR MAILING LIST

Get free weekly updates on top club picks, book giveaways, author events and more
Please wait...